Skip to Content Skip to Navigation Skip to Sitemap

The Alpujarra Conection

  • This house is in: Spain, Cadiar
  • Dates: variable

About this assignment

I’m looking for one person or a couple.They must love animals. I have a dog and a cat.They must be practical minded and a bit adventurousThey will need to have there own car.This is very important as the house is down a 3k track and is 9k to the nearest villageIf they are one person they need to be comfortable to be alone in a remote area.If it is a couple they need to get on well.There age is not important but they need to mature minded and responsible.Sorry to be so blunt, but heavy drinkers or class ´A´ drug addicts need NOT apply.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

 

First and foremost being a good friend to my 3yr old female pointer, Matilda(Tilly)

Feeding walking and her and Sky ,my cat, who also likes to go for walks sometimes.

Secondly, taking care that the solar batteries are topped up with distilled water.

Also a small amount of garden watering and generally just being there keeping an eye on the place.

enter some text here]

 

What are the good features of the property and location

 

Good features…were do I start? Ok, nestled in the rolling hills of The Eastern Alpujarra mountains, Granada, Southern Spain surrounded by almond and fig tree. Spectacular views of the snow caped sierra Navada mountains. The bungalow were they will stay, which is separate from the main house, has a private terrace which is east facing for breath taking sun rises and moon gazing. Inside there is a sleeping area with a double bed, shower room, kitchenette and living room. Very peaceful and tranquil. Prefect for relaxing and getting in touch with nature. The nearest village is Cadiar Shops, banks, Medical Center, bars and occasionally live music in ´Bar de Musica´, Snow melt water spring to collect drinking water, an ice cold snow melt pool in the village of Berchules also some good places for nightlife.

 

 

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

The cortijo is situated at 1000m so it can get quite cold in the winter months. The bungalow has a wood burning stove.

The house run on solar energy so one has to be aware of electrical appliances that use a lot of Watts i.e: hairdryer.

Sometime(more in the summer) there are days when the mains water is cut of because of shortage of water. Fortunately this does not affect the me as much as some of the other neighbors as the house has it own water deposit connected to the house which can be used in such an event. The only drawback is that the water pressure is quite low.

The 3k track to the house is quite bumpy in some parts, but can be easily passed in a normal car(like I have) And as I mentioned earlier the person/s will have to have there own car. 

 At the moment I am looking for some one mid Jan to the end of Feb. But this could change. Sorry I can t be more clear just yet. Will keep you posted



 

 

 

Discover an adventure today - Register now.