Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Experienced, responsible, non smoking, animal loving, retired couple

  • Country of residence: Canada
  • When can they start: 1 April 2018
  • Available until: 16 December 2018
  • Age: 56-65
  • Occupation: Retired
  • They have 2 testimonials (view below)
  • They have referees/references (view below)
  • They have no police check
  • They have experience with these pets: Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Guinea pig(s), Pig(s), Goat(s), Farm animal(s), Other animal(s) – Pigs, sheep, cats, dogs, hens and chickens, goats, guinea pigs
  • They don't charge for house sitting services
  • Last updated: 1 August 2017

About this sitter

We are an adventurous retired couple, non smoking, who enjoy traveling, gardening and love animals of all types. We sold our home five years ago, and have been traveling and house sitting ever since. It has been the perfect blend of travel, while still maintaining homes, and having pets. We do prefer long term house sits, but are totally open to others, often doing sits of a week or longer, depending on our availability. We are looking for sits in Europe, the United States, and Canada.We are willing and able to give all of the pets in our charge, the love and attention they need, while keeping the homes and gardens in great shape. Of course, we would keep in contact with the owners, and send photos of their beloved pets.

Why they want to house sit

Having sold our home, five years ago, we have found house sitting to be the perfect way to see parts of the world, we haven't been to, while still maintaining a home, and becoming part of a community. Having pets to care for, just adds to that experience. They are such great company, and we get such a kick out of them. We have been to Europe several times, and appreciate the culture, and the people. We have had no problem adapting to the different lifestyles, and customs of all the countries we have done sits. We are particularly interested in travel to France and Italy, where we have been several times, but look forward to visiting other European countries. We are also, very keen, to see more of our own country, and of course, the U.S. where we have had some wonderful sits, and great pets to spend time with.

Their experience

We completed a three month house sit in Brittany, France, our first sit, where we took care of four rental properties, along with two pigs, three sheep, and two cats. It was a wonderful experience, and we had the opportunity to enjoy the company of the many guests. Following that, we did a 3 month sit in Maryland, taking care of a wonderful dog, that we fell in love with. Then came a three month sit in Northumberland til mid August, taking care of two sweet dogs, and maintaining the property. We did another three month sit in France, the Burgundy region, with three cats and three hens, a wonderful experience. We have done sits in South Carolina, Vieques, Ontario, a repeat sit in Burgundy, did a three month sit in Tennessee, a beautiful area, a three month sit in New Hamburg, Ontario, a short sit in Michigan, then off to Provence to a two month sit. We have done a repeat sit in Tennesse this year, and have been in British Columbia, now, doing a sit in Vancouver, with the cutest terrier, and Salt Spring Island, with a stunningly beautiful golden retriever. Life is very good.

What can they bring to the assignment

We bring our experience garnered over a lifetime. We are responsible, experienced, trustworthy, and look forward to maintaining others' home, treating it with the respect we would want someone to treat ours. We have had several dogs, of our own, and have spent numerous sits, with several cats, all sweet. We have 25 years experience running our own business, attending and exhibiting at major trade shows in Canada and the U.S. Previous to that, I taught for several years. We are enthusiastic and excited about the adventures to come, and look forward to our future sits.



Austria, Belgium, Canada, Caribbean, Croatia, Cyprus, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Monaco, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States


Tuscany,Toscana; Umbria, Provence, Loire Valley, Burgundy, La Bourgogne; California, BMaine, North Carolina, Brittany, Bretagne, Venice, Veneto, Spain, Espagne,


Paris, Florence, Firenze; Sorrento, Ravello, San Diego,Nice,Beaune, Dijon, St. Remy,Lyons,


Reference for Margaret and Louis Thibodeau

Margaret and Louis house sat for us May to July 2013 and looked after our labradour and cocker spaniel, house and garden whilst we were working in USA. They are lovely people and we were happy to leave our pets with them. All had gone well on our return and I would be happy to have them sit for us again.

Jan, United Kingdom, 17 September, 2016

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

The best!

Margaret and Louis sat for us in rural France for two separate winter seasons in re 2012-13 and 2013-14. They were excellent! They had charge of our house, three cats and four hens. All were well cared for and they dealt with everything perfectly. That included one of the cat's accident, which resulted in her having a paw amputated. Margaret was amazing. She nursed Spice up to and after the operation, a heavy workload, and our little cat is healthy and happy with her three paws. We returned both times to a clean, tidy, warm house and a lovely welcoming meal. Highly recommended.

Carol, France, 17 September, 2016

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Discover an adventure today - Register now.