Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Retired academic couple looking to sit

United States

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Guinea pig(s) – Peter is a biologist with a deep knowledge of the natural world.

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 1 August 2019
Until: 31 December 2020

Occupation

Retired professor

References

They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

We are retired academics (aquatic biology and art) and are looking to house sit on variable dates beginning in August 2019. We are in excellent health, flexible in our housing needs and would enjoy caring for a pet (not required). We are interested in (but not limited to) Costa Rica where we are residents and speak Spanish or France where we have family.

Why they want to house sit

We enjoy spending more than a few days in a new area. It often results in meeting new people, and developing friendships in new communities and new cultures. House sitting is a great way to do this. We have traveled and lived extensively in and outside of the US, and understand the value and complexity of such a lifestyle. We would like to spend more time doing this in the coming years.

Their experience

Yes, we have a history of minding others homes. We have been house and pet sitters in the US and in Costa Rica. We have been house owners many times over in the US and abroad.
We began our expat experience separately traveling and studying abroad in our teens then US Peace Corps assignments in our 20s. We have since lived or worked abroad off and on throughout our working years.

What can they bring to the assignment

We are honest, well educated and open-minded. We both speak English and Spanish, and are comfortable practicing other languages that we have studied over the years. We are knowledgeable regarding home maintenance and are relatively handy in basic home management, repair and gardening. We do not currently own pets but we have been small pet owners in the past.

Available to house sit

Argentina, Australia, Caribbean, Central South America, Costa Rica, Finland, France, Greece, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Netherlands, New Zealand, South East Asia, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Availability dates

From: 1 August 2019
Until: 31 December 2020

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2017

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old
Family status: Couple

Testimonials

Costa Rica, San Ramon

Peter and Susan took care of our home for aproximately 5 weeks while we traveled in 2018. We were fortunate enought to actually meet them prior to the sitting dates, and we left them feeling totally comfortable about our home. They managed and cared for the house as if it were there own. If they seek a time to sit your home, trust me you needn't look further. Now we are friends and looking forward to meeting up with them again. Very interesting people. The also took great care of our cat, Saddles. I think Saddles now misses them.

Ward , United States, 03 January, 2019

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 22 January 2019