Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Jill of all Trades . . . Masters of Social Work

United States

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Fish, Goat(s) – I love experiencing new cultures, people, fur people, and just taking in what the world is and is not.

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 9 August 2018
Until: 24 June 2019

Occupation

Graduate Student at Smith College

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

I am Mia-Katelyn, a graduate student taking a gap year/leave of absence; and in the authoring stage of a medical textbook. Smith College is my undergraduate alma mater, something I am proud of, given how arduous the undertaking was as an adult old enough to be my classmates' mother. I have ambition at the end of my studies to work as a family therapist specializing in children from marginalized populations.

AS A PERSON: I am down-to-Earth and a natural caregiver. I am a non-smoker, non-drinker, and do not take anything stronger than an occasional Advil. I am the "go-to" for family and friends whenever they need someone to hold their conversations confidential, whenever they need a strong shoulder to lean on, and when they need unbiased forthright guidance, counseling, and/or advice.

I love kids and when I have the time between school and substitute teaching, I can be found tutoring, mentoring, and little-person sitting.

AS A HOUSESITTER: I am a Jill of all trades and will roll my up my sleeves to get done what needs to get done. I was a homeowner of 25-years until Hurricane Harvey came into Houston and destroyed my neighborhood (sadly, we made international news). My home was an antiqued-lady and I became versed in routine maintenance; "listening" to the bumps, pops, and creaks – evaluating what was normal and what needed tending to; and keeping her in tip-top shape.

I bring this same love and attention to your home and fur baby if you choose me as your house-sitter/fur baby's companion, I do not require much other than the basics, and a good internet connection. If there is no internet, at the bare minimum, I need to be able to use my phone as a hotspot. I have Verizon and need to be able to get a signal.

A little history: For the past two and one half years, I have been in San Antonio taking care of my mother's end-years: wrapping up her estate, house sitting/project management through a lengthy home renovation, navigating a lawsuit with one of her tenants, and wearing many hats during that time all while taking care of an elderly Tortoise Shell cat and a lively Dandie Dinmont Terrier . . . and attending graduate school.

About three years ago, my little one (Pomeranian) passed away and I am currently fur baby-less. However, I am not alone, as I am a magnet for all critters. If there is a butterfly, bird, cat, dog, or any other type of friendly creature, it finds me and we become fast friends. I am also the person who volunteers to take care of friends' and family's fur babies whenever they aren't allowed to go on holiday with their owners. One of my fondest recollections was when Bart the Barzoi, Peggy the Shepherd, and Mac the Scottish Terrier all wound up at my house for Christmas – luckily they all got along well.

References: Please feel free to visit my Linkedin profile: https://www.linkedin.com/in/estesmk/ or contact the Alumnae House at Smith College (I worked there from 2012-2015). I will also provide personal references upon your request.

Why they want to house sit

Please see narrative.

Their experience

Yes, please see narrative.

What can they bring to the assignment

Please see narrative. I have intermediate security clearance with the Federal Government/Veterans Affairs; and have been fingerprinted with an extensive background check with Eastside Independent School District (Odessa, Texas), and Northside and Northeast Independent School Districts (San Antonio, Texas).

Available to house sit

Canada, Mexico, United States

Availability dates

From: 9 August 2018
Until: 24 June 2019

Do they charge?

They sometimes charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2018

Personal details

Age: 46-55 years old

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 9 August 2018