Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Retired academic sailing couple

United States

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Guinea pig(s), Reptile(s)

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 9 November 2019
Until: 3 January 2021

Occupation

One retired academic, one health care professional

References

They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

We met each other during volunteer stints in East Africa. We married 40 years ago, had 3 kids, and then sold our land house 4 years ago. We have been living on a sailboat since then, but prefer to live on land during hurricane season. Stephen is retired from academics. Maureen is still working part time in international health care. We are Canadian and Dutch, and since our 3 daughters live on 3 different continents, we are free to live anywhere. We don't smoke.

Why they want to house sit

We want to spend hurricane season living on land somewhere. We enjoy advancing our French, Spanish, Swahili, and Dutch language skills. We were amateur musicians, and we hope to find some connections there.

Their experience

We owned a house for decades, and did most of our own maintenance. We made a large flower garden, constructed a pond in it with plants, fish and waterfall features. Over the years we had multiple pets: birds, cats, turtles, dogs. Now that we own a sailboat, we know about being "off the grid", and we are necessarily full time maintenance people.

What can they bring to the assignment

Seafaring demands a lot in the way of organization, planning, scheduling, fixing, safety, and foresight. We have plenty of experience in dealing with strangers, new cultures, and unexpected foodstuffs.

Available to house sit

Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Ireland, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Availability dates

From: 9 November 2019
Until: 3 January 2021

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2019

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old
Family status: Couple

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 12 October 2019