Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Mature married couple (non-smokers!) who loves gardening and stay at remote places



They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Rabbit(s), Guinea pig(s)

Police check

They don't have a police check


From: 1 September 2019
Until: 14 September 2020


PR Manager and writer / tour guide and speaker


They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

We are Verena (38) and Patrick (43), a non-smoking married couple who lives and travels the world in a 50 year old 4x4 truck. Patrick has worked as a tour guide in South Africa and is now starting his own tour company. Verena is working remotely as a professional writer. In winter we give speeches in Germany about our Transafrica-Tour. In Summer 2018 we sitted a remote farmhouse for three months, while rebuilding our camping truck.

Why they want to house sit

So now you might ask yourself, why we want to sit your house? Sometimes we like a change of scenery of living in a mobile home. Staying in a house gives us the opportunity to enjoy gardening, caring of pets for a while and simply the more space. Especially we love off the grid places in the nature because the peace and quiet there is the perfect setting to work on our book and speeches about our Transafrica- Tour.

Their experience

During our 3-month house sitting assignment in Germany last summer we took care of a big garden. We picked fruits and vegetables, preserved them and cooked jam. On the property there was also a campsite as well as a holiday chalet, which we managed. Meaning we would prepare the house for guests, settle them in and clean and do the laundry afterwards. Further more there were living chickens on the farm, which we also took care of.

What can they bring to the assignment

- We are flexible, because we live in our camping truck

- Hands-on-mentality: Patrick repairs the truck himself and built the whole interior from wood

- Experience with cats, dogs and chickens: Verena owned cats herself for 30 years, we regularly sitted dogs of friends and took care of chickens on the farm we sitted.

- Gardening skills, environmental thinking, used to living in and dealing with the challenges in remote regions

Available to house sit

Africa, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Malta, Netherlands, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom

Availability dates

From: 1 September 2019
Until: 14 September 2020

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2019

Personal details

Age: 36-45 years old
Family status: Couple


Just a Fabulous Experience

Verena and Patrick arrived in their small 4 wheel drive motorhome/truck to look after our finca and frankly everything was just perfect. We had not had anybody finca sit for us before so we were a bit nervous that they would find the way we live a bit primitive but their friendly happy attitude quickly put us at our ease and they rapidly understood the systems of our off grid smallholding. They kept us informed whilst we were away, were flexible about our slightly delayed return and welcomed us back to a perfectly maintained finca with a home cooked meal at the end of our journey. You will not find more likeable or reliable people,

Mark, United Kingdom, 23 August, 2019

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 18 June 2019