Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Bike Touring, animal loving, and minimalistic couple seeking housesitting opportunities

United States

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Fish, Tortoise/Turtle(s)

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 1 January 2020
Until: 1 April 2021

Occupation

Not stated

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

Hello! We are Pablo and Katie and we have been bike touring Mexico since August 2019. We will be arriving to the States by bicycle so we are excited to find a comfortable place to settle for a little while before continuing our tour across the country to Alabama. We are extremely clean and organized, non smokers and trustworthy. We spend a lot of time in the kitchen playing with recipes and cooking healthy meals. We are very relaxed people who enjoy all things outdoors, telling jokes, and meeting new people.

Meditation is very important to us and we try to live every moment in the present. We adapt quickly to different environments and situations. We are minimalists who enjoy traveling slowly and low budget. We use Couchsurfing during our travels as well as Warm Showers and Airbnb. We can provide good references from all of these sites.

We met in Portland and fell in love with each other. We shared our love for cycling and traveling, and came to the conclusion that it would only make sense to do it together. Bike touring an entire country has not only taught us patience and understanding as a couple, but with ourselves as well. We look forward to returning to the States to spend time in a new area resting our minds and bodies, and hanging out with animals. Spending time with pets teaches you compassion and recharges you.

Feel free to ask us any questions you might have! We are available to schedule a video chat at your convenience.

Here's a brief video introduction: https://vimeo.com/358661041

Why they want to house sit

As much as we love spending time in nature and being outdoors, we find it extremely necessary to take time for ourselves indoors in solitude.

Housesitting gives us the opportunity to work on our freelance jobs and to spend time with animals which is one of our favorite things to do.

Something we value about housesitting is it allows us to develop a personal relationship with the homeowners based on trust and integrity instead of the exchange of money for services. When we give someone our word, we follow through.

Their experience

We both worked for Wag! (Dog walking/pet sitting app) in Portland, Oregon, and can provide several positive references from that.

Pablo spent 8 months traveling around Patagonia where he first started housesitting. He housesat in California and Oregon several times during 2017 and 2018 through HouseCarers and MindMyHouse. He was responsible for taking care of animals and general maintenance of the houses and gardens.

Katie has traveled around Asia and lived and worked in Australia for a year. When she returned to the States, she moved to Portland, Oregon and nannied for two young kids as well as kept the house clean and tidy.

What can they bring to the assignment

We are responsible and understand what it means to leave your home and pets in the hands of another person which is why we will enjoy keeping you updated on what’s going on. Because we are freelancers, we will be home most of the time, therefore making it easy to get in touch with us.

Available to house sit

Mexico, United States

Availability dates

From: 1 January 2020
Until: 1 April 2021

Do they charge?

They sometimes charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2019

Personal details

Age: 26-35 years old
Family status: Couple

Testimonials

Excellent Cat and Chicken care with international flair

My home has two cats, one indoor chicken and five outdoor chickens. One of the cats is elderly and needs several medications daily. Pablo dealt with all of this in an organized, careful manner while developing a nice bond with the cats. We have a multi-floor home which requires a modest amount of maintenance so were pleasantly surprised to see the house in such stellar shape when we got back from extended travel. It wasn't a requirement to clean, but Pablo obviously likes his surrounding to be tidy and kept our place in the same state. My elderly cat requires two types of oral medication which is a demanding ask of anyone. Pablo ended up having less issues with that work than I do. Our chickens just require minimal interaction, but on one occasion one of our girls passed away and Pablo dealt with the situation with a great deal of sensitivity. He was so good with our first arrangement that we've had him stay with us for an extended period that allowed us to travel multiple times without worry. I recommend him without hesitation and feel like anyone would be fortunate to have him as a minder.

Fritz, United States, 04 September, 2019

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 16 September 2019