Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Active retired Canadian lady

Canada

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Guinea pig(s) – As a pet owner myself, of dogs, cats, and birds as well, for most of my life, I can do a great job in caring for yours.

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 1 January 2020
Until: 31 December 2020

Occupation

Retired human resources director

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

Hello. I have been retired and widowed for some time and really enjoy what I spend most of my time doing: planning trips and taking them and doing lots of family history research. Almost all of my family were born in the UK somewhere .... all over, and here in Canada.

Why they want to house sit

I did house and pet sitting while I lived in the UK from October 2015 to November 2016 and loved it. I have been dog and catless for some time, as it is not fair to travel a lot to your animals. So house and pet sitting gives you the company of animals and none of the long term committment. It's much as I do things here at home in Canada. While I am dogless, all the dogs in the neighbourhood probably think of me as the treat lady, as they drag their owners up my lane to the door. For someone with no dogs, I sure spend a lot on dog treats.

Their experience

Oh, yes. I have two recommendations I would be pleased to give.

What can they bring to the assignment

First of all, I am retired, with a pension which enables me to live comfortably in my own home, and travel when I wish. I have been lucky enough to have very much enjoyed most of my career in human resources.

And I am honest. Really honest. It comes from having been brought up a Presbyterian. If I stole or lied I know there would be a bolt of lightning from heaven to sizzle me into an oily spot on the carpet. I still call myself a Presbyterian in recovery.

I love the company of dogs and cats and other animals, and I am very willing to conform to the routine of your pets. I know how sensitive all animals are to new food, environments, or routines. And I respect owner's rights to deal with their animals. I always ask if I may pet one of their animals. If it would not be appreciated, then I don't.

Also, I am a mature longtime homeowner myself, and a single woman. I am used to taking care of a home and property. I rarely go out at night. I am not at all what anyone would call a party person. And I am a careful but competent driver, even on the left in the UK..

One other thing. I traveled a lot nationally and even internationally for my work with our federal government for decades, and am very comfortable with traveling alone. In fact, I prefer it. Traveling alone enables me to spend my time how I wish, often in archives or other research establishments which would bore others, while it delights me.

I have lived overseas, only once, but for over a year in the UK, so I know about how different our legal or other systems can be. I have also been to Italy and France, mostly staying in 'self-catering' situations, as they call it in the UK, so that I learn the most about the neighbourhood. I call that embedding in another section.

And I am a reader, mostly of history. I am hooked on all matter of memoires, diaries, collections of letters, and straightforward history. Despite being an English major in college, I haven't had time for fiction for decades.

I prefer long term assignments of at least a month. I like to embed myself in the community, learning where the best walks are and chatting with other walkers, and learning which shops to use for which services. I prefer spring or fall assignments, despite weather issues, just because life is calmer once children go back to school. I also prefer countryside or village assignments. Unless of course, there are historical features or archives close by ......

Available to house sit

Canada, France, United Kingdom, United States

Availability dates

From: 1 January 2020
Until: 31 December 2020

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2019

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 13 September 2019