Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Extensive experience with horses, dogs, cats, pigs, chickens, holiday accommodation management and cleaning, building and land management.

United Kingdom

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Guinea pig(s), Rodent(s), Pig(s), Goat(s), Reptile(s), Farm animal(s), Other animal(s)

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 1 September 2020
Until: 1 January 2022

Occupation

Not stated

References

They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

Rocky (38) is by trade a builder and also a qualified personal trainer and nutritionist, we moved to Cornwall 6 years ago when our son was 6 months for Rocky to work on refurbing a friend's restaurants, he has an extensive portfolio of houses he has built and grew up working in his father's building firm and so extensive experience also.
Once moving to Cornwall we set out to find some property to rent with land to enable us to achieve our 'end goal' of becoming self sufficient, we rented a 5 acre small holding for three years when we saw the farm we currently live on become available.
We were up against 21 other applicants for the 10 year lease of the farm based tenancy, neither of us have farming backgrounds but after a 6 month process involving business plans and cash flows for the next ten years.....we achieved the impossible!

Georgie (30) has main experience within the equine industry and within the food and drink trade.
She spent 3 years working for an international 4* event rider and several years on smaller event and showjumping yards, Georgie is qualified to teach riding, she also spent several years working in wine bar and pub kitchens, with experience cooking and front of house.

We have a son who is six years old and a daughter who is 1 year old, both our children are used to travelling and experiencing new things, they are also very accustomed to an outdoorsy, 'farm' life.

Since taking over the farm we have launched The Cornish Farm Project, a community interest company, not for profit, with a goal to make organically farmed, local produce accessible and affordable for everyone, we welcome volunteers and have successfully run the project for roughly 18 months, we have pigs for pork, chickens for meat and eggs and bee hives.
We have also successfully run a 'glampsite' on the farm for two summers, we have built showers, a farm shop and compost toilets, the campsite has 10 bell tents which are fully booked for the british summer. We also both have experience in cleaning within the holiday accommodation in cornwall, this has helped us running the campsite and also renting out our caravans on the farm the rest of the year....I urge you to check out our facebook page @cornishfarmprojectcic as this will give you a real feel for who we are and what we do.

Why they want to house sit

We love to travel and new challenges, our eventual goal is to move abroad, we would like to experience living abroad for longer periods of time as opposed to on holiday.

Their experience

Yes : ) We have experience in the following

All aspects of farm animal (cows, pigs, goats, ducks, chickens, quail and even rabbits) and horse care and even studwork
All aspects of dog and cat care ( we have two cats, mother and daughter) we have experience breeding and rocky grew up with his family breeding international show quality great danes.
We incubate all our own birds and also slaughter our own animals ethically at home.
Tanning leather from skins and hides
Building with stone, blocks and wood, groundworks, basic plumbing, drainage and electrics ( we ran water pipes and drains from the caravans)
Holiday accommodation and campsite management and cleaning.
Static caravan care and maintenance
Cooking for business
Producing food and drink for sale
Marketing and running a farm business and campsite
Qualifications in personal training and nutrition

What can they bring to the assignment

Ive probably covered it all but if you think you might need us for something we havent mentioned...please just ask....

Available to house sit

Argentina, Austria, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Fiji, Finland, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, India, Indonesia, Italy, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Nepal, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Peru

Availability dates

From: 1 September 2020
Until: 1 January 2022

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2020

Personal details

Age: 26-35 years old
Family status: Family with children

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 16 January 2020