Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Mature writer seeking calm place for writing in exchange for work

Netherlands

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Cat(s), Chicken(s), Rabbit(s) – Owned a cat for many years, took care of chickens for three months, owned two rabbits as a kid.

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 4 August 2020
Until: 31 July 2022
(see their busy times below)

Occupation

Writer

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

I am a mature, physically fit writer from The Netherlands. I am 29 years old, but very responsible.

I am seeking a calm place to write, but in a new environment, as I have never traveled much in my life, other than going to campsites for holidays, and would like to explore more of Europe.
I write long hours every day, but I take long breaks, so I am willing and able to do whatever work you ask of me. My writing schedule is flexible, so I can adapt to your house's and animals' needs.

Why they want to house sit

I am aspiring to be a published novelist, and have resigned from my daytime job in July 2020, to work at this writing fulltime. I have a 500 page manuscript that needs in depth editing, which must be finished by March 2021.

To finish my book, I am looking for a calm place to write. By calm I mean that I can work without being interrupted. I want to combine this writing with exploring regions that are unfamiliar to me, because I have never been out of my country for longer than a few weeks.

Minding your house is a good opportunity for me to combine these ambitions, at a frugal budget.

Their experience

I have minded a house once before, outside of Mindmyhouse.com, for two weeks in the autumn of 2019. The house owners were happy with the way I minded their house, but they were also my parents-in-law, so I understand if that somehow counts a bit less for you.

I have owned a cat for many years and know how to take care of them, and have taken care of chickens in 2015, for a few months, which included cleaning out the hen house, feeding the chickens and collecting their eggs. As a kid, I lived with two rabbits.

I have no experience with dogs, but am very eager to learn, and once I live more permanently at a more rural place, I might want a dog for myself, too. I imagine they are great friends, and taking dogs for a long walk is a great way to clear the mind and solve writing problems!

What can they bring to the assignment

Although only 29 years old, I am mature and very responsible. Although my personal goal during your stay is to write, it is equally important for me that I mind your house in such a way that you are happy about it. I care about this. I will take the time to get my house minding tasks done, and not rush my way through them. I will take it very seriously, and expect to spend up to a few hours every day on it. This is important for you, and also for me, intrinsically, and in addition also because I hope to live for at least a year while minding houses, and if I don't take it seriously, the honest feedback of a disappointed house owner will endanger my plans. You can see this as an extra reassurance that I will take good care of your house.

I am tidy and it is important for me to keep your house clean. We can communicate during the stay if you would want that, or not if you don't.

Available to house sit

Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Monaco, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

Availability dates

From: 4 August 2020
Until: 31 July 2022

They have indicated that they are busy at the following times:
10 September 2020 to 27 September 2020

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2020

Personal details

Age: 26-35 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 4 August 2020