Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Experienced sitter

Denmark

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Guinea pig(s), Rodent(s), Pig(s), Goat(s), Reptile(s) – I do have a reference coming but am still waiting for this to arrive from my previous pet- and house-sitting position

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 6 October 2021
Until: 1 January 2024

Occupation

Researcher

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

I am a single Danish woman in my forties, who is seeking a longer lasting pet and/or house minding position in a tranquil spot in Europe where I hope to be able to finish working on a writing job I have been commissioned to.

I hold a Ph.D. in Biochemistry from Denmark where I graduated in 2007. Since then I spent ten years working in academic and clinical biomedical research in Denmark, Scotland, California and Mississippi.

Based on my background as a biomedical scientist I now work with proofreading and editing papers for scientific journals, so I am fairly dependent on an Internet connection. Other than that I adapt very well to new environment, respect the privacy of others around me, but at the same time am pretty easy going and happy to socialize with people and “other” animals around me.

Other that animals another great passion of mine is food – growing, cooking and sharing it. I like cooking (almost) every type of food including vegetarian. I enjoy eating fish and meat now, but I lived as a vegetarian for years in the past and really prefer to cook tasty and varied food with healthy portions of vegetables, fruits and grains.

Why they want to house sit

For the past sixteen years I have lived and worked in Sweden, Scotland, Ireland and the US with brief intervals staying in Denmark where most of my family lives. I love the experience of living and working in other counties and prefer to do so in a way where I can settle in a new environment for an extended period of time. I have made lasting friends of many different cultures over the years and I value these relationships greatly. Now that my children are grown and have moved away from home I really want to seize this opportunity to travel to a new environment that offers new and exciting experiences. Because I am seeking a longer stay in a quiet and beautiful area of Europe with the opportunity of getting to know new friendly people and/or their pets, house minding is a perfect fit for me.

I am a great animal lover and have been ever since I was a small child. In addition to my two-year experience as a pet minder for four large Pyrenees Mountain dogs and fifteen cats in Ireland I have previously worked in professional settings in a reptile zoo and at a bids-of-prey refuge. In addition, I have personally kept and loved pets of many different species including dogs, cats, ferrets, rodents, reptiles and insects. I respect and care for all animals with keen attention to their needs and reliability towards their owners and their beloved pets – that is why house and/or pet-sitting is a great fit for me.

Their experience

I was a pet- and house-minder in Ireland for two years where I gained a lot of experience taking care of four large Pyrenees Mountain dogs and fifteen cats, several of which were born on my watch. I cared for every part of their needs including feeding, exersizing. playing and veterinary check-ups. As a house minder I kept the large estate neat and tidy both inside and outside. I am also pretty handy with smaller DYI projects, such as minor repairs, painting and so on.

What can they bring to the assignment

On the more practical side I am a strong multitasker and with a sense of urgency, excellent organization skills and dedication to pet and house caring responsibilities. I also have professional experience with customer service, accounting and administrative work in a business setting and I possess excellent interpersonal communication skills with fluency in English and Danish and intermediate German and Swedish communication levels. In addition to my function as a pet and house minder in Ireland I also worked there as an administrative assistant for ARK Recycling, where I performed in customer service, sales, food catering, bookkeeping, management of website, organization of meetings, day to day administrative support and correspondence.

Before entering university and during vacation periods I worked in public health care service in Denmark as a personal care assistant over a period of almost ten years, where I helped clients in their homes or residing in nursing homes with every part of their daily needs from personal care, medicine distribution, shopping, cooking and cleaning. I valued this position greatly and still gain from the experience of it. To this day I feel very fortunate to have contributed to the care and companionship for elderly or disabled people whom I was able to help through their daily needs.

I have compassion for others around me - both two- and four-legged creatures and I enjoy providing help and comfort. I am practical and hard-working when duties demand my attention and I love conversation and companionship when time allows.

Available to house sit

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Moldova, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

Availability dates

From: 6 October 2021
Until: 1 January 2024

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2021

Personal details

Age: 36-45 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 6 October 2021