Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Retired Police Officer and Educational IT Consultant - 21 house sits to date

  • Country of residence: United Kingdom
  • When can they start: 2 January 2018
  • Available until: 30 April 2018
  • Age: 46-55
  • Occupation: Retired Police Officer & Educational IT Consultant
  • They have no testimonials
  • They have referees/references (view below)
  • They have no police check
  • They have experience with these pets: Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Fish, Rabbit(s)
  • They don't charge for house sitting services
  • Last updated: 3 August 2017

About this sitter

Steve and Clare, 55 & 57, non smokers and from the UK. Steve is a retired Police Officer with 30 years experience and Clare is an ex Nurse and retired Educational IT Consultant.

Why they want to house sit

Having given focus to our careers when we were younger, neither of us had gap years or travelled extensively early on in our adult lives.   We want to make up for lost time and make the most of opportunities to live in and experience different countries, cultures & cuisines.  House sitting and retirement is allowing us the freedom to explore and enjoy new and different experiences, but without the two week holiday time frame that previously restricted these opportunities.

Their experience

We have successfully undertaken 21 house sits since 2009. Of these, 15 were in Southern France, 3 in Spain, 1 in Portugal and in 2 the UK.

House sit 1: We have house sat here 7 times over the last 5 years. This house sit involved looking after the owners Labrador dog whom we adore, the house, swimming pool and holiday let rental business.

House sit 2: We looked after this house for 1 year which involved looking after a large remote property set in 25 acres of wooded hillside near Grasse; it was on the market for sale. We maintained the house, grounds and swimming pool to a high standard. We also looked after the owner’s rabbit, 4 chickens and 2 vehicles and occasionally, their friends two dogs, as well as preparing and showing the property at its best to potential purchasers.

House sit 3: This house sit involved looking after the owners cottage and two very sweet cats, who kept us entertained and were nicknamed Ninja 1 & 2 due to their acrobatic and climbing abilities!

House sit 4: This house sit was just about looking after the owners house for 6 weeks, living in it, keeping it warm, clean and tidy as well as keeping an eye on the swimming pool.

House sit 5: At this house sit we looked after 2 house cats and 3 chickens as our main priority. We were rebooked for Autumn 2016 for 4 weeks, this time we also looked after their gorgeous dog Lizzie, 3 cats, the chickens and a duck call Pedro.

House sit 6: This house sit was about looking after the owners house for 7 weeks while they were on holiday, living in it, keeping it warm, clean, tidy and secure.

House sit 7: This was a 2 week house sit looking after a gorgeous dog, walking him twice a day and making sure the house was safe and secure.

House sit 8: This was a 7 week house sit looking after 2 independent cats and looking after the property and pool.

Spain: In Spain we have had 3 repeat bookings, we looked after 3 beautiful and friendly cats as well as looking after the owners villa and maintaining their swimming pool, most recently while they were away on a 8 week holiday.

Portugal: In Portugal we looked after 2 very friendly and sweet dogs and 5 beautiful cats. this was our main responsibility, as well as keeping the house maintained and responding to any issues that arose.

UK House sit: We have house sat here on 2 occasions, most recently in July 2014. We gained experience looking after two horses and two 'highly strung' terrier dogs. We didn’t ride the horses, but kept an eye on them, checking them twice a day, mucking out, feeding, etc.

What can they bring to the assignment

We are honest, caring, practical and sensible people. We also both have a strong sense of responsibility and security, therefore you can leave your home in the knowledge that we will look after it as we would our own home. Clare also has the ‘clean gene’, so definitely very clean as well!
We are both fit and well travelled, and with our respective backgrounds more than capable of dealing with most eventualities.
We both have full clean UK driving licences.



Austria, Belgium, Canada, Caribbean, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, North East Asia, Panama, Portugal, Singapore, Slovenia, South East Asia, South Pacific, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United States


This member hasn't got any testimonials yet (from registered MindMyHouse home owners).


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Discover an adventure today - Register now.