Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Looking for caring and responsible couple/housesitters on property in nature with horses surrounded by nature, close to Dordogne region

France, Dévillac, Metropolitan France

Pets

  • Horse/Donkey(s)

the horses run free on the property, no stables

Duration

  • Period available: 1 month, 4 weeks
  • Starts: 1 August 2021
  • Ends: 30 September 2021

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

We love travelling and meeting new people. Having had positive experiences with housesitters in the past we are looking for people who have the confidence to be on a property with horses and to keep an eye on them. As you will have to check the fences daily you obviously have to be in good health to be able to walk. We are flexible about our leaving and returning dates;

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Making sure the horses have water supply and checking up on them to make sure they are well. No grooming or riding needed.You need to know animal behaviour in order to be able to act when a horse would get unwell.

What are the good features of the property and location

Our property is located in a very rural community yet not isolated completely. At a few kilometres from the dordogne region, lots of walking possibilities and peaceful environment. Shops are a 10 minute drive and for sightseeing you could drive any direction; Plenty of scenery to enjoy.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

Our home is cosy and has everything you need to have a nice stay at the countryside but some little works have not been finished yet, There is no shower in the house itself, you have to go outside in a smaal old barn where we have a hot water shower; the house is heated with a woodstove. We prefer people who have some experience with horses. Not necessarily riding or grooming, just common sense. We also expect you to stay on the property meaning that you can do daytrips without a problem but at night we 'd appreciate you to be on the property. Also important to not hesitate to communicate with us when having the slightest doubt about the wellbeing of our horses.

Last updated: 30 May 2021
12 sitters have applied for this assignment

Enlarge map

Testimonials

Beautiful nature place

We spent four weeks there, looking after the house and the horses. Cosmas and Marc are very reliable, friendly and always kept in contact when we needed some advice. The house has everything we needed and the upper floor is very light. Here you can sleep, leaving the window open all the night. You will only hear the frogs, birds and crickets. The countryside is very beautiful and a nice local market on saturdays is just 8 km away. Marc gave us very helpful instrucions before leaving. Thank you so much, Cosmas and Marc, that we could enjoy your lovely place!

Ute, 12 June, 2017

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions