Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Eastern Long Island (Shirley) July 26-August 12

  • Location: United States, Shirley
  • Period available: 2 weeks, 3 days
  • Starts: 26 July 2017
  • Ends: 12 August 2017
  • Testimonials: They have no testimonials
  • Pets: Dog(s) – 2 dogs
  • Last updated: 15 June 2017

About this assignment

Responsible, non-smoking couple to care for my house, dogs, and plants while I'm away.

Love of dogs required. Non-smoking, please.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Houseplants will need watering 2-3 times per week. I will have some plants in the raised beds that will need minimal tending (watering if not enough rain faills.) Finally, I have two medium-sized (ca. 45 lbs) well-mannered dogs (ages 7 and 6 years old), that will need to be played with and walked.

What are the good features of the property and location

The house is a lovely Cape Cod in a quiet residential area of Eastern Long Island on the South Shore near LIE Exit 68.

About the house: it is a 2 bedroom, 1.5 bath house, with a fully finished basement, walk-in closet, study, library/living room and combined kitchen/great room. The kitchen has stainless steel appliances and granite countertops and is nicely laid out. The great room sports a beautiful soapstone woodstove. There's a front porch with glider, and a deck with grill. The backyard has a firepit. The finished basement has lots of workout equipment--professional bench, dumbells, and kettlebells.

The back yard sports several raised beds for vegetable gardening, established rhubarb and asparagus beds, young grape vines, lingonberries, blueberries, blackberries, raspberries, elderberries, currants, and tayberries, as well as young dwarf fruit trees.

The area itself is replete with both outdoor and cultural possibilities. A world-class beach is just six miles away, and a large park with fishing possibilities and hiking trails (ca 1500 acres) is only one-quarter mile away. Biking opportunities abound--if the weather cooperates, and the Hamptons are just about 25 miles away.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

The area does not have much public transportation so a car of your own is a must. The dogs are early risers and will need to be fed around 6 a.m. Although NYC is just 90 or so minutes away by train, the dogs can't be left for more than 8 hours at a time. If the potential housesitters would like to visit NYC, however,they are welcome to use the services of my on-call petsitter, who charges $16 for a mid-day visit to take care of the dogs.

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

Discover an adventure today - Register now.

Top