Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Comfortable, well-run Spanish Finca combining country, town and coast

Spain, Madrid, Comunidad de Madrid

Pets

  • Dog(s)
  • Cat(s)
  • Horse/Donkey(s)

Duration

  • Period available: 3 weeks, 6 days
  • Starts: 14 March 2019
  • Ends: 10 April 2019

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

We are looking for a couple who are keen and fit outdoors people who will take our young, energetic dogs on long walks to the beach or to the mountains or to the river and, back home again, will enjoy staying in a comfortable house in the Spanish countryside. You will be happy to get up in the morning at the weekends to feed the horses, the cat and the chickens. If that sounds very rural, we are close to the town and the coast and have the best of all worlds. We would prefer house-sitters who are at home during the day so that the dogs are not usually left alone, though they can manage for a few hours occasionally if you want to explore further afield. House-sitters who are not afraid of horses would be a plus so you could move them between fields if necessary and a horse-rider would be best of all!

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Our house-sitters will have primary responsibility for our dogs - 2 lurchers and a terrier. The lurchers are young and energetic and need lots of exercise. The terrier catches rats. We have a large property but without regular long walks, they will go off on adventures or, if shut in, chew the leather sofa. We also have 3 horses and at weekends, they need feeding morning and evening. as do the 6 chickens who lay daily in exchange for the minimum of attention. During the week, we have a local cleaner, a gardener and 2 outdoor workers so you have no house/garden maintenance to do. You can call on their support but speaking Spanish (or Google Translate) would be helpful for this!

What are the good features of the property and location

We have a comfortable 4 bedroom house plus 2 bedroom guesthouse though we spend most of our time in the main kitchen where the dogs tend to occupy the sofas in front of the wood burner in winter - even in spring, nights can be cold. We have cable TV and good Wifi. There is a car you can use and shops, bars and restaurants are close by. The dogs love runs on the beach which is 30 mins away. Equally, they enjoy the mountains around us too though they are oblivious to the stunning spring flowers. You can drive to Seville, Cadiz, Ronda, Gibraltar within 90 mins so could explore a city for the day. .

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

It would be useful to speak some Spanish, though Google Translate is very helpful, to communicate with the people who come and go on various missions. We would prefer you did not bring your own pets as we know from experience that ours find that stressful. You will need to be comfortable with dogs, chickens, a cat and the horses.

Last updated: 6 January 2019

Enlarge map

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.