Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Animal loving COUPLES, with real experience (not just friends and family) required for long term pet/house sit, minimum 3 months. No children, or pets. Understanding and able to speak fluent English essential. Drivers over 25 for insurance reasons. Up

Spain, Capileira, Andalucía

Pets

  • Dog(s)
  • Cat(s)
  • Bird(s)

Our dogs can become anxious when left alone in the house. It's just because they get attached very easily, and fret when the 'pack' is separated. It is essential to not leave them for more than 3 hours, as they may pee on the balcony. Although it can be

Duration

  • Period available: 3 months, 3 weeks
  • Starts: 10 August 2020
  • Ends: 1 December 2020

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

Please read our requirements fully, before applying.

Animal lover/s. Cleanliness. Honesty. Flexibility. Driver with a license, (Over 25) Physically fit couples. Common sense. Good communication. Respect. Non smokers. Be able to follow a routine the animals are used to. To respect the way we do things, and not to change if you don't agree, unless consulting us first.

We work away every other month, so sitters required for only 2/3 weeks every other month or occasional day sit. In return, sitters can stay in our separate house downstairs totally independent from the main house when not required for sitting. The house will be rent free, electric to be paid by bank transfer, and all other amenities to be paid by sitters.

We also will consider shorter sits from two weeks up to one month, but the sitter/s will stay in our house in the guest room. For shorter sits, it is essential that you can provide your dates. During shorter sits, either one of us or both of us may be at home for a time.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Feed and walk/play dogs daily. Keep to their routine. Feed, cat.
Confidant handling of parrot. Clean and tidy up any spills, and clean up after yourself. Required driving to and from airport, over 25years due to insurance. Keep regular/daily communication with owners, when on a sit.Water plants.

What are the good features of the property and location

Peaceful area situated in the Alpujarras. Fantastic views, and abundant wildlife. Friendly locals. All amenities in the village. Wood burning stove, fully functional for cooking in winter months. Ideal for people who want to get away from the 'rat race'! Beautiful mountain walks, and nearby villages to visit. WiFi in main house, can be reached in downstairs house. There is now free wifi in the whole village.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

Very steep streets, so need to be physically fit. The sitters are required because of work commitment, so reliability is a must, no last minute cancellation as flights have to be booked once dates are confirmed with sitters. This is a very laid back area of Spain, lives very much in the past, so respect of their ways and traditions essential.

We require sitters to be able to pick us up from airports, so a driving license is essential for this sit.

Last updated: 7 July 2020
19 sitters have applied for this assignment

Enlarge map

Testimonials

Housesitting in the Alpujarras!

My husband and I had a wonderful time watching Alison and Tony's hilarious family of animals. All are very well-behaved and were a pleasure to hang out with. We were delighted whenever the cats decided to accompany us on our nightly dog walks, and the famous hiking trails in the region make for an epic place to let the dogs run. Their parrot loves to dance to music and is a never-ending source of amusement. For potential house sitters, just know that the owners are very particular with their daily pet schedule, never leaving the animals alone for more than 3 hours at a time. Because of this, I could see how it might be a little much for some people, but it really was a great experience for us, with an incredible cast of characters! The house is a very small space located in a quaint mountain village, with stunning views.

Ryan and Diedre, 11 May, 2019

  • Friendly
  • Organised
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions