Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Hotel de los Burros. The Donkey Way. Esel-Plassen. Cenascuras. Granada

Spain, Madrid, Comunidad de Madrid

Pets

  • Dog(s)
  • Horse/Donkey(s)

Duration

  • Period available: 4 weeks, 2 days
  • Starts: 1 December 2020
  • Ends: 31 December 2020

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

One or two persons who can take care of my 6 donkeys and 4 dogs while I visit my children and grandchildren in Norway. My visits can be in the beginning of September, the end of October, and for Christmas.The house-sitter(s) will have a little private cave-house. Before I leave my animals, I will make sure that you know what to do and how to do, spending some days together. Most of the time, I will be around, and we can find agreements about what to do, and who does what.The most important for me, is that when I am away, somebody is carefully taking care.

The donkeys have their open stable in enclosed area with plenty of space to move around.. They need food and water, the stable needs to be kept clean, and they like to be brushed.

The dogs have their doghouses in an enclosed area with plenty of space to run around, connected to my house-cave. They are very cosy.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

My house-sitter/sitters will be responsible of the well being of all my dogs and my donkeys.
The distance between the stable and the cave-houses is 10 - 15 minutes walk. I make this walk every morning and every evening. The dogs are used to be inside in their dog-area, and the donkeys are used to be in their donkey-area.
Very seldom, a veterinary is needed, and in case an animal needs a vet, the house-sitter is responsible for calling him.
The house-sitter is also responsible for keeping the house-cave-flat clean, and in the same order as it is when arriving
The stable and the dog-areas shall be kept clean, like it is on the time of arrival.

What are the good features of the property and location

The house-sitter(s) will have a flat (the guest-house) on their own.
The guest- house is next to my cave-house. The guest- house has a little kitchen (with gas hob and a microwave oven), a little dining-room/living-room, sleeping-room ( double bed) and a bathroom with shower, toilet and sink. Wifi yes.

There shall not be animals in the guest-house, because there is allergy for animals in my family. Also, when I go to visit my family, I need to take a shower in the guest-house bathroom, so that I get rid of as much dog and donkey hair as possible.

We live in a very calm place with few people and no shops.
However, cars bring bread, fruit and vegetables, fish and frozen food.
A nice bar/ restaurant about 30 minutes walk from here.

I am sorry about the map, showing area Madrid. I have not managed to change it to where I live: province Granada.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

"Hotel de los Burros" is Spanish and means Donkey Hotel.
I have been a donkey-traveller since spring 2000.
In my opinion, this is a perfect way of travelling, with dynamic harmony between the nature, present animals and present people.
This is also called The DonkeyWay.

Unfortunately, the old, healthy tracks for living donkey-trafic, are lost and destroyed. The traffic of today means metal and motors, with increasing needs for time, place and attention: This is pushing away the old donkey culture.

Esel-Plassen is Norwegian ( I am a Norwegian) and means "A place for donkeys".
The dogs, the donkeys and I do all we can to protect a healthy Donkey Way, on my private ground.

I do not have a car. Simply because my life was destroyed in car- accidents in Norway. I recovered thanks to Spanish donkeys. The result of these two major changes in my life, is
Esel-Plassen.
The Donkey Way.
Hotel de los Burros.

If you have a car, I ask you to please use the Donkey Way Parking-place, about 100 meters from the guest-house entrance.

The animals and I apreciate all understanding help and support. Much here is good.
Much can be done better.
Everything needs attention and care.

Drugs are not accepted.

Food-shopping:No shops here. I use the local taxi-driver and I use my freezer.There is a freezer in the guest-house also.

The nearest town Gor,about 10 km. from here, has two small supermarkeds. Guadix,(about 25 km from here) and Baza (about 30 km. from here, are both larger towns with good supermarkets.

Some Spanish would be useful, but not absolutely essential.

Emergency contacts in English will be provided.

Welcome to a peaceful part of the planet.

Last updated: 24 July 2020
15 sitters have applied for this assignment

Enlarge map

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.