Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

A house in southern Tuscany needing to become alive again

Italy, Scansano, Tuscany

Pets

  • Cat(s)
  • Horse/Donkey(s)

I want to make a Bee Sanctuary

Duration

  • Dates: variable

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

I prefer women or couples. Solo men are ok if they are NOT using this as some kind of dating website. I am married but here on my own most of the time so less keen on having men coming to help out, sorry nothing personal just insightful clarity. In a Sitter I am looking for honesty, correctness, respect, reliability, capacity to listen and to Respond rather than reacting, kindness and Responsibility above all and someone who truly loves and thrives in silence and will be considerate of the silence around here as I can hear everything from the upstairs apartment. This area of Tuscany is quite secluded and emotionally weak people who need to rely on persistent human presence may well have trouble handling the beauty and peace of this place. So be honest with yourself before you contact me please and have a good look at my websites listed below.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Gardening, possibly a permaculture veg. garden and small maintenance. But most of all I am looking for someone who will help me rebirth this place and the whole village so some internet stuff. I need someone to help me birth the project described here www.gofundme.com/wombhome and here www.wombhome.wordpress.com We will need to talk about it together, making decisions and you will be putting the outcome online and promoting the project online because my computer mind is 110% consumed by the two PhD dissertations which I am writing at the moment. A lot of what needs to be put online has already been written and it's nothing too overwhelming to do. You would decide how long you want to work each day, what seems fair to you, and be quite free. We would previously discuss that of course but I would not be checking on you much. It's going to have to be an exchange relationship based on trust and correctness. There will be some watering and looking after cats when I am away and in the future if the project blossoms there will be permaculture to do, but this is still NOT the immediate present. We would have a clear conversation about all and agree what you are willing to do and not. You are also responsible for your electricity and water bills, if you come in the winter for heating but it will be split with me if I inhabit the

What are the good features of the property and location

you would be staying upstairs in an independent apartment, which has three bedrooms, two bathrooms, a kitchen and living room space, independent entrance with outside space to eat outside. Depending on our arrangement you can have the whole apartment or a room and bathroom allowing me to rent the other room occasionally, but considering there is not much tourism here it would be rarely. You can view it at www.gelsoneve.net I am in a beautiful area of tuscany, I live on the edge of a village and of a main road, but there is few cars passing by, it's the road that goes towards Monte Labbro and Monte Amiata, we are 600 mt. above sea levels. 9 km from here there is a beautiful river, 15 km from here the hot springs and thermal bath house, there is etruscan ruins all over the territory, and a lovely medieval village called Roccalbegna about 20 min. drive from here with cold springs and the best water in Tuscany. The Argentario coast is 1 hour away, with the most beautiful sea when the sky is clear. On Mount Amiata, 1 h from here there is also a Tibetan Buddhist centre retreat.
And you can view the overal project which I am trying to bring to Italy here
www.wombhome.wordpress.com
and www.gofundme.com/wombhome
I didn't want to put pics here so that only who looks carefully into things would contact me.
The only downside is that my house is on the edge of a village on the side of a main road, but very few cars come by and I have two gardens and there is magic all around in these Etruscan lands. Have a look on www.gelsoneve.net to find out about the location. Ignore the prices the website was hacked and some parts of the website need to be fixed.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

As I said, the isolation. I am working on 2 PhDs at the moment, and live in the downstairs apartment with my cats, sometimes I go to China, Tibet or Greece for fieldwork or to Germany to visit my wife, but mostly I am at home writing. I am not so much of company, although I am happy in the evening to have a hot drink and a little chat once in a while, I am quite friendly and warm in general, but I got used to living here alone. My wife visits twice a year and when she comes here she might want to stay in one of the rooms upstairs, but she is also an hermit like myself perhaps more so actually. Locals aren't the friendliest of people, narrow minded. You can make friends with Germans if you speak it, especially in the summer, but these days with Codiv19 there's less and less people around. Also if you smoke, that's absolutely not allowed indoors and you need to remember to buy your cigarettes before coming to the house because it will be ten miles to the nearest tabacchi. There is a minimarket in the village and one country restaurant with typical tuscan cuisine and one Pizzeria Napoletana which makes the traditional Napoli Pizza, currently close of course because of the "pandemic". I also consider houses exchanges. Particularly from October 2020 to July 2021

Last updated: 7 May 2020
4 sitters have applied for this assignment

Enlarge map

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.