Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Monaro Rural Beauty and Comfort

Australia, Murrumbucca, New South Wales

Pets

  • Chicken(s)
  • Fish
  • Farm animal(s)

The chickens are very friendly and enjoy some free range time each day

Duration

  • Period available: 1 month, 1 week
  • Starts: 21 August 2020
  • Ends: 1 October 2020

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

This home is set in a rural environment so is best suited for someone or couple comfortable with a rural lifestyle who is comfortable with the use of a slow combustion stove and wood fire for warmth

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Care daily for our chickens. Ensure the bath tubs for the animals have adequate water. Respect our home and clean as required. Be people that enjoy animals such as the kangaroos that will come visiting.

What are the good features of the property and location

A beautiful and cosy home set on 800 acres we overlook Murrumbucca Pinnacle. The house is thermally efficient with doubled glazed windows, slow combustion stove and hydronic heaters. Cooma is 25mins drive and Canberra Centre is 1.5 hours by car.

This home is a special place of peace with a great balance of bushland and grazing country. We are at 1100 metres.

A perfect spot for some space and 1.5 hours to the ski fields.

The house is spacious with 3 carpeted bedrooms/one generous bathroom with shower and bath. The open plan kitchen / dining and lounge area has a spacious feel with high ceilings and wood paneled walls looking out through large expanses of glass. We have internet and great mobile reception for Telstra users.

There are chickens that need feeding daily, rewarding you with a bounty of eggs. Also we have 5 alpacas and some 8 sheep who may visit for an occasional feed but do not require special care. There are two goldfish in our kitchen area.

For this period of six weeks as my husband and I travel to Qld (COVID) regulations willing, we need someone or a couple that is comfortable with a degree of isolation, familiar with a slow combustion stove and able to enjoy a rural lifestyle. Our nearest neighbours are at our boundaries, some 5 mins drive.

House is electricity driven with solar hot water to augment the wood stove. Tank water is in abundance. Water heated by stove and solar.

This idyllic home would suit a couple or single person that is comfortable with a slow combustion stove and an open fire for warmth.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

Applying for this assignment one would need to be comfortable with space and peace and quiet and be open to a smaller township at your disposal as Cooma is not huge but does have a Hospital. The snowfields are only 1.5 hours from the door.

Last updated: 4 August 2020
No sitters have applied for this assignment yet. Be the first!

Enlarge map

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.