Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Cat, dog, chickens, countryside walks, the sea and lively Brighton

United Kingdom, Henfield, England

Pets

  • Dog(s)
  • Cat(s)
  • Chicken(s)

1 dog, 1 cat, 4 hens

Duration

  • Period available: 3 weeks
  • Starts: 13 August 2019
  • Ends: 3 September 2019

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

We would like someone reliable, clean, tidy, careful and responsible. On the other hand, we don't live in a perfect, luxurious house! The main thing, though, is that we want someone who genuinely likes animals. Ours are used to lots of attention and cuddles (not the chickens!), so we would expect our sitters to be caring and affectionate towards them. Our dog needs someone patient who doesn't mind cleaning poo on the kitchen floor! She is old, arthritic, deaf and somewhat poo incontinent... However, she is still spritely and very happy and able to walk every day up to 2 hrs, although short walks are fine. Respect for our neighbours is also very important to us. We ask our sitters not to leave the house overnight or for longer than a few hours at a time.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Apart from the obvious, i.e. looking after the house and keeping it clean according to our simple instructions, taking care of our dog (when not away travelling with us), and cat, both 13 years old. The cat, Socks, needs food, water and lots of cuddles; the dog, Nena, the same, but also a reasonable daily walk (2 miles or so, maybe longer once or twice a week) in all weathers! We have 4 hens who are very easy to look after.
We also have a reasonably sized garden that may need a bit of maintenance, depending of the time of the year, but we don't expect a house sitter to be a gardener.
One important request, please: although we do expect that our sitters will use their initiative when necessary, we kindly ask that they do not attempt to make or implement any changes to the way we do certain things, i.e. our pets’ habits and what they are allowed/not allowed, WITHOUT asking us first.

What are the good features of the property and location

Our house is an ordinary semidetached in a quiet close, but we have made it into a lovely home; we are very happy living here. We are on the edge of a large village in West Sussex, very near Brighton. We are very close to the South Downs, now designated a National Park. The countryside is beautiful around us, as well as the river Adur, and many walks, both easy and more challenging, can be started from our front door. The village has most amenities and shops, as well as several pubs. Sadly, we do not have a bank anymore, but you can get cash easily from several places in the High Street. We are conveniently situated within a short drive of several train stations on the main line to London. It takes only 1hr or so to get there. Gatwick airport is only half hour by car. And, of course, the sea and Brighton, a great place to visit, are just 20 minutes away.
We have WiFi in the house for the sitters’ use.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

Although there is a half hourly bus into Brighton and Horsham, as well as a less frequent one to Burgess Hill from the village, a car would be very useful, as rural public transport in the area is not fantastic, but previous sitters have managed perfectly well without. Those allergic to cats would not be suited to live in our house. We do not accept smokers under any circumstances. The use of the house phone will be restricted to national calls. We expect any damage caused to the house or its contents to be paid for by the sitter, although a deposit against possible damage won’t be required. Please, do not apply unless you have a genuine affection for and experience of looking after animals, specially oldies! You must be fit enough and willing to walk in the countryside, in all weathers.

Last updated: 14 May 2019

Enlarge map

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.