Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

House & Pet Sitter wanted July 27-Aug 3 in Courtenay BC

Canada,

Pets

  • Dog(s)
  • Cat(s)
  • Fish

I forgot to mention that we have bird feeders outside. They will likely need replenishing once during your visit.

Duration

  • Period available: 6 days
  • Starts: 27 July 2019
  • Ends: 2 August 2019

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

Responsible, reliable and tidy. Nonsmoker. Wouldn't mind if you were interested in repeat visits. Female preferred but anyone considered. References required. Okay with using wood fireplace for heat. If you have a feeling you might cancel at the last minute, thank you for considering but this isn't the listing for you.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Cat: feed, pet and do regular litter changes.

Dog: food 2 times daily. At least one hour walk daily. For this period of time we have her booked at a kennel but she might need to come home for a break.

Feed the fish.

Household: Bring in the mail. Take out the garbage on Fridays and recycling every second Friday.

Yard and Garden: Water the garden. We will have as much automated as possible to minimize the effort.

Check in with us by text message if you have it.

What are the good features of the property and location

Lovely neighborhood. Hiking trails and river swimming park and playground at the end of our block. Spa bathroom with huge bathtub and glass shower - now missing a door, but still workable until we get it fixed. Heated floors. Piano. Wifi. Patio and BBQ. We generally heat the home with a wood fireplace. DW, W/D.
We have a rustic outdoor clawfoot tub if you're like me and appreciate fresh air bathing.

Walking distance to adorable downtown amenities. Biking distance to everywhere. Transit nearby. 30 minutes to Mount Washington for hiking and mountain bike park.

The above photos are from when this place was listed. We have been living her for a few years now and it's lost a bit of it's spa-like polish as we enjoy active family lives. But this place still cleans up well!

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

The dog cannot be taken to a cafe or store and leashed outside without supervision as my daughter is afraid someone would take her. It's understandable, she's a super sweet dog and that has happened in our neighborhood! We would prefer her to be walked twice a day if possible, but once a day is sufficient.

Families walk and bike everywhere here. We consider it a very safe place to live and do occasionally forget to lock the doors with no repercussions. That said, there are occasional thefts in our neighborhood and you will see evidence of a homeless population here. We're very proud that Courtenay recently built a large apartment for our homeless citizens but there is still more to be done when the community budget allows.

Last updated: 12 June 2019

Enlarge map

Testimonials

Very relaxing sit in a quiet neighbourhood

Housesitting at Brenda's was a wonderful experience! She's very friendly and helfpul, the house was cozy and spacious and the neighbourhood is quiet and less than a block from a park! The wood-burning fire was a nice treat and the cats slowly warmed up to me so that by the end I was sad to say goodbye to them. I would definitely come back for another sit!

Shannon, 02 May, 2017

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Organised
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions