Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Female Labrador and Tortoiseshell Cats - South of France

France, Roquebrun, Occitanie

Pets

  • Dog(s)
  • Cat(s)

Female Labrador 11 years old and Two Female Tortoiseshell Cats.

Duration

  • Period available: 2 weeks
  • Starts: 31 July 2019
  • Ends: 14 August 2019

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

Our preferred dates are end of June 2019 for two weeks. But there is some flexibility either way to suit your plans. Responsibility, open-mind, animal lover(s). Someone who can cope with always hungry labrador pretending not to have eaten for days :)

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Walking and feeding our female labrador, 11 years old. Feeding our two tortoiseshell female cats. There is a cat flap, so the cats are totally independent. All animals are of good health although the dog as she is getting older - her breathing in the warm weather suffers so she takes it easy on her walks.

What are the good features of the property and location

Comfortable house, located in a picturesque, medieval village of Roquebrun (34 Hérault). 35 mins from Béziers airport. 1hr from Montpellier. The climate is very pleasant, quality of air excellent. Lots of walking and exploring possible. Organised canoeing in the river Orb.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

Roquebrun is not remote but public transport is very limited so OWN CAR IS ESSENTIAL. There is a possibility to use our car which is a RIGHT HAND DRIVE.

There is a small shop in the village, bakery, restaurants and two bars. The nearest bigger villages with more shops, including pharmacy and a small supermarket are 8mins and 12mins by car.

Please note that the house may not be suitable for very small children or elderly people with mobility issues due to steep, stone staircases.

Being comfortable around a larger dog and two cats. All friendly and gentle. The Labrador - typically for this type of dog - is crazy about food - she needs supervision at meal times, so that she does not steal your breakfast :) The cats can exit the house via cat flap, so fully independent. The dog can be left on her own during the day. The cats for a day or two. The dog will also be happy to accompany you on your trips.

Single travellers, couples with or without children, friends travelling together - all welcome.

Last updated: 9 July 2019

Enlarge map

Testimonials

We looked after Catherine’s house and animals (dog Bronka, cats EmTi and Agata) in May-June 2019. Communication with Catherine beforehand was great: she’s very relaxed and easy going so it was nice exchanging messages and having a phone call. We went to Catherine and her wife Barbara on the day before they left, for them to show us the ropes and for all of us to ask any last questions. They made sure we knew everything we needed to know about the house, the village and the area. The location for this house sit was superb: a beautiful medieval village with narrow, steep streets, next to a river, in a valley of green hills and vineyards. There’s plenty of walking and cycling to be done in the area and you can drive a bit further to visit places like Beziers. We were happy we had our car, for example to get shopping. The animals at this house sit were a treat. Bronka was a very friendly dog with a big appetite. She loved going out but she’s got some issues breathing so didn’t go for very long walks, especially not when it was hot on those steep streets. EmTi was a sweet little cat who liked spending time outdoors. Agata was a bit more shy and preferred to stay in the attic, waiting for us giving her room service! What we enjoyed a lot during this house sit was the community feel in the village. Within a few days we knew people (e.g. neighbours, people running bars, locals) and everyone was just so friendly. We felt like if we had a question about or needed help with anything, not only would Catherine and Barbara have helped us, but through the local network we would have found help in the village too. A very comforting thought when you’re in an unfamiliar place! A few things to note: we would highly recommend having a car (e.g. to get shopping and explore the area), you need a basic level of fitness to go up and down the streets in the village, and unfortunately we had an issue with fleas so would suggest any future house sitters to check with Catherine that it has been resolved.

Carolus, United Kingdom, 30 June, 2019

  • Friendly
  • Reliable
  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Helpful with problems
  • Kept in contact
  • Gave good instructions