Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Explore the Sacred Valley Peru from this Cozy Home in Local Pueblo

Peru, Cercado, Urubamba, Cuzco

Pets

  • Cat(s)

2 female cats, 4 and 1.5 yrs old

Duration

  • Period available: 1 month, 4 days
  • Starts: 23 January 2020
  • Ends: 27 February 2020

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Facilities

They have WIFI

About this assignment

House-sitter looking to visit and explore the Sacred Valley Peru?!?
Space Available for a responsible and care-taking person that wants to have a home base to explore the ruins and mountains of the area. While close to a 'touristy' area, is really a down to earth, active Peruvian Pueblo, quite peace inside a lovely Tourist Area.

Be reasonable, clean, and polite (next door is also the land owners and friends) so be open to a good relationship with my sweet neighbors and get to know some local Peruvians.
Be open and communicative with me about any concerns, needs, or issues that arise via msgs, email or whatsapp.
Be looking for a good time to enjoy Perú!!!

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Not many - enjoy the place!
There are two adult female sterilized outdoor/indoor cats
Lulu 4 years old - she is sweet and likes to sleep in her window bed. She goes outside for playing/bathroom needs and comes in on her own schedule, and may or may not want some cuddles /attention in her own time, but is a bit more shy in personality.

Qori. around 1.5 yrs old- she is very sweet and bit more playful. She may ask for a bit of attention right away and also likes to sleep in her cat bed, and snuggle up on your lap.

They will need daily food and water - playtime and cuddles as you like.

That's it - they are well behaved, both go to the bathroom outdoors, so there aren't any litter boxes, there is a window open for them to go outside. They take care of themselves. and you can play and cuddle with them as you like. ( They like it too!)

I do have a small garden area outside that should maintain itself and you can eat some of the veggies! And some indoor and outdoor plants. These may need a water or two, depending on the amount of rainfall during your time. Indoor plants will need watered 1x week. The garden has veggies and there are fruit trees and you can help yourself to the wonderful fresh organic food!

Other than that - just clean up after yourself, communicate of any issues and visit the ruins nearby and enjoy the area.

What are the good features of the property and location

Situated in the town of Urubamba, about 1.5 hours from Cusco Perú, it is a great place to jump off and explore the whole Sacred Valley. This is a great place to use as a way to stay longer and enjoy the magic of the Valley.
Plan a trip to Visit Machu Pichu! Go by train or hike in!
Explore the ancient ruins in Moray, tiny pueblo of Ollayantantambo, magic of Pisac, the working salt mines of Maras. Soak in the hot springs at Lares. Hidden ruins are around each corner in the mysterious mountains waiting for your visit.

The cats will be fine if you want to explore and are away for a night, and then come back to feed and water them. I would ask you not plan on being gone for more than 2 days, or if so -i have a neighbor that may be able to bring them food, if you go away for longer than 1 night.

Urubamba is situated amongst the Andes, but is a slow paced town, that doesn't overwhelm you with tourists, and allows you to sink into the mindset and friendlyness that Peru has waiting for you.
My apartment is about 15 minute walk from the main market, and center of town, in a quiet area, without street traffic. There may be my neighbors roosters waking you up though!
It is a 2 bedroom, 1 bathroom adobe house with living room upstairs, dining room downstairs and a good sized kitchen with full appliances (no dishwasher). Outdoor patio, 2nd floor balcony, and flowers garden, space for a fire are available for hanging outside among the mountains.

Wifi is a available, but basic. A washing machine is here, with clothesline outside. Walking is normal around the town, but moto-taxis are also always available. To get out of town I can provide some a few references for taxis / guides.

Jan & February is the rainy season, but still can have many wonderful days of sun, and everything becomes nice and green. If it rains, it will mean you won't have to water the garden!

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

Speaking some Spanish would be useful to help you get around. Most locals don't speak english, but even a basic level of Spanish will get you by. I can also tell you of places/people in town that offer spanish lessons if you want to learn more.

Would love to have someone for the whole time, but I can consider part time as well. If you are coming into the area for this house-sit - it'd be best if you can come at least the day before I leave so I can show you the place.

My preference is for a single person, I have a single bed in the downstairs bedroom - which i use as my treatment room (in the photo above) but I will have a bed for sleeping in it and you can have it as your room. . This will probably be best as the upstairs space has no door to it.

It's fine if you go and explore for a couple days or so away from the house, just leave food out for the cats, though I ask for not more than 2 days continuously, or 1 night, as the cats will need food.

Last updated: 7 December 2019

Enlarge map

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.