Skip to Content Skip to Navigation Skip to Sitemap

Calm in a crisis, caring, responsible, mature, environmentally aware

  • Country of residence: United Kingdom
  • When can they start: 17 March 2015
  • Available until: 7 August 2016
  • Age: 36-45
  • Occupation: Retired
  • They have references
  • They have a police check
  • Any experience with pets? Fish, cat, dog
  • They don't charge for house sitting services
  • Last updated: 11 October 2014

About this sitter

I enjoy discovering new parts of the world, even if they happen to be just around the corner.

I retired early (at 25 - a few years ago now!) and have filled the years with various voluntary posts, lots of world travel and work for my local Quaker meeting as well as being a Charity trustee.

I am involved in the Transition Towns initiative and this, along with being a Quaker, has fostered a keen awareness of environmental concerns and I do all I can to tread lightly on the earth.

I like animals, although beyond horse riding and lamb feeding I don't have much experience beyond dogs, cats and fish. I prefer quiet places as I do a lot of reading, but wouldn't mind shorter sits in more urban environs.

I spend my time reading, hand baking bread, tricycling, walking, swimming, volunteering at the local theatre, teaching retirees how to use the internet, running a number of websites and being a Charity Trustee.

I drive, speak some French, have good computer and IT skills, am good with finances (although I'd rather not do your accounts or tax returns while you are away) and I am a fairly passable cook.

Why they want to house sit

I very much enjoy discovering new places and house sitting is an easy way of doing that. No hotels to worry about; my own space to read, write, play a bit of ukulele and do some baking.

Travelling the world is OK, but can get a bit lonely if you have no reason for traipsing about other than to pass the time. I am looking for opportunities to travel and spend time in places that are new to me but at the same time doing something that is of use to someone. Plus, if there are dogs and cats (friendly ones) involved then all the better. Older pets are no problem but dogs that are yappy, boisterous or hugely energetic are not for me.

Some house sits are an opportunity to meet new people and learn new skills, whilst some I admit are not and are more about time to myself, which I will relish. I am also a member of WWOOF which is an organisation that coordinates volunteering on organic farms around the world and house sitting seems a good thing to fit in around that.

Their experience

My housesitting experience is fairly varied in terms of house but as far as animals go it is currently limited to dogs and cats but I am happy to try anything. I am currently learning all I can about sheep farming....

I have lived on my own in my three bedroomed house for ten years, dealing with tradesmen, decorators, builders, bills, shopping, cleaning, the occasional feline companion and community projects such as 'no cold calling' zones and noticeboards.

I have undertaken various house sits, cats and dogs being involved.

I have also been a house sitter for my parents endless times; dealing with decorators and builders, cleaning and keeping the house going.

For my neighbours, when they go on holiday, I provide the usual neighbourly service of post clearing and house checking.

What can they bring to the assignment

I can bring an enthusiasm for life and what it brings my way. I will treat your house and pets with every care, ensuring as far as possible that you return to it in the state you left it (unless of course the assignment involves changing it in some way in your absence).

I have been a cleaner in my past and obviously have to clean my own home.

My approach to gardening is more of keeping things looking neat and tidy than being very green thumbed. I rather enjoy mowing, pruning, hacking and slashing of weeds, trees etc, although too much hands and knees weeding and I'm less keen.

General DIY is fine but I'm not interested in redecorating. I've been there, done that, and would rather leave it to professionals.

I have had a cat and a fish (not at the same time I should point out) and walked many dogs. I have a bit of a dream to rear sheep, goats and ducks, having been a volunteer shepherd on a Nature Reserve in West Sussex and feeding some lambs on the Isle of Lewis. I also fancy keeping chickens and have looked after chickens on a friend's farm.

I am good at dealing with crises; 5 years in Finance in London (Please don't hold that against me) taught me how to think on my feet and respond efficiently to all sorts of situations.

As a Quaker I uphold the testimonies of simplicity and truthfulness above all the others and I undertake a pastoral role with the Society.

My references would be from a past housesit and also a friend who is a Methodist minister. I could also provide references from the local theatre and local library, where I volunteer.

Availability

Countries:

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Caribbean, China, Cyprus, Denmark, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Iceland, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Monaco, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Portugal, Singapore, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Discover an adventure today - Register now.