Skip to Content Skip to Navigation Skip to Sitemap


  • Country of residence: Canada
  • When can they start: 1 October 2015
  • Available until: 31 March 2016
  • Age: 56-65
  • Occupation: Ex B&B operator
  • They have references
  • They have a police check
  • Any experience with pets? Dogs, cats, chickens, fish, turtles
  • They don't charge for house sitting services
  • Last updated: 22 December 2014

About this sitter

My husband Doug and I (Kathy) now retired from the Police Department and Air Canada have experience operating a B&B in beautiful British Columbia, Canada and maintain a waterfront rental property in the Gulf Islands.

We are experienced in housekeeping and caretaking to a high standard and have had several successful house sits with a wealth of experiences and fond memories of the many pets along the way. Your home and pets would be in caring, capable hands.

We appreciate the countryside and rural settings, enjoy long walks with the dogs we care for. We always appreciate the use of a vehicle when possible and hold clean driver's licences. We are healthy and active, non smokers.

We like a comfortable home with adequate heating in winter, usual mod cons, wireless network if possible for laptop.

We will consider all opportunities as there are some very unusual and interesting house sits available and we are open to broadening our experiences.


See (copy and paste)
and - listed under YEAR ROUND HOUSE SITTERS- EUROPE available in Canada. Select 'available to house sit in' ANY COUNTRY then select CANADA

Why they want to house sit

We have the freedom to travel, love pets and house sitting allows us to offer our services in return for a relaxing house sit in a beautiful location in Europe or closer to home in North America.

Their experience

In early 2008 we were in France for 3 months, at 3 house sits with a variety of wonderful experiences. Met great homeowners and enjoyed caring for their pets, from mischievous Jack Russels to intelligent German Shepherds and cats that asked nothing more than to be fed and cuddled from time to time.

In late 2008 we were house sitting in Wiltshire, U.K. for 3 months, with 2 happy cats and as a bonus we took care of the neighbour's gorgeous Golden Retriever too. In January 2009 we were care-taking at a fantastic Chateau in France for another 3 months.

During May/June 2009 we were at a very pretty farm a little closer to home in the beautiful Kootenay area of B.C. Approximately 150 chickens, 2 official resident cats, 2 wild cats and a gentle Husky dog keeping us company on our daily walks and outings.

In July we were in Basel, Switzerland for another cat/apartment sit experience, which we enjoyed very much whilst attending the Basel Tattoo with our family.

During August/September 2009 we had a lovely sit in Dublin, Ireland. One energetic German Shepherd rescue dog and a lovely Staffordshire Bull Terrier to keep us company.

In late September 2009 we headed to Umbria, Italy where we provided security and pet sitting services for the owners of a Castle for 10 weeks.

December 2009 we accepted a sit in Cornwall UK taking care of 2 delightful Springer Spaniels and a very loving Newfoundland for a few weeks before heading to Salisbury for a short sit with 2 gentle giants, Pyrenean Mountain dogs.

Winter 2010 took us to Surrey UK for a 3 month sit with two delightful energetic Springer Spaniels. Fond memories.

We took a break from house sitting in 2011 but were later in Brittany, France to take care of 2 adorable Patterdale Terriers for 7 weeks. In December 2012 we headed to Spain to provide security at a beautiful 7 bedroom villa as well as taking care of 4 Labradors.

In January 2013 we travelled to Southern France to take care of a wonderful Labrador and two cats and a further sit near Cognac with cats and a lively mongrel until the Spring.

2014 we found ourselves yearning for more adventures and headed to Scotland for a very relaxing time house sitting a delightful B&B for 4 weeks. Plenty of cliff tops and gorgeous beaches around the Moray Firth area to explore with a little Scottish border terrier to keep us active. Then on to a return house sit in Spain to take care of the 4 lovely Labradors in San Pedro for several weeks.

Afterwards we shall be heading for another return sit to the Pyrenees for 3 months taking care of a beautiful French home and 2 lively hounds.

Having had pets of our own in the past, a Golden Retriever and a Brittany Spaniel and 3 cats that are no longer with us, but gave us much joy, we understand the love people have for their pets. Chickens are no problem now after a great experience on a small chicken farm in Canada! Horses can be tended but not ridden terribly well!

What can they bring to the assignment

Reliability, great care of both home and pets, lots of walks for dogs guaranteed. Cuddles are freely given!

You can go on vacation knowing that your home would be kept in good order and your pets would be given extra special attention. Gardens are enjoyed and tended, plants would be watered.

We are open to any special requests for other house sitting or care taking services, rental management, long term requirements considered. Salary would be required for duties outside a normal family home. For example, Gites, Bed and Breakfast establishments.



Austria, Belgium, Canada, Caribbean, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States





Discover an adventure today - Register now.