Skip to Content Skip to Navigation Skip to Sitemap

Spend some time in the beautiful Scottish Borders

  • This house is in: United Kingdom, Peebles
  • Dates: variable

About this assignment

We're looking for a house sitter (or couple) to spend some time in our house & look after our 3 dogs,  12 chickens & (in the summer) our vegetable garden. Our kids & dogs have the run of the place, so the sitters need to be comfy in a homely environment. Most importantly, they must be very confident & ideally experienced with bull breed dogs - our dogs are bull terriers, they are like big teddy bears & very loving, but they can be clumsy & stubborn. They think they are lap-sized dogs, so you need to be able to cope on the sofa with a 70lb dog on your lap!

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Enjoy our home & its location. Keep our dogs & chickens entertained, clean, happy, fed & warm. The dogs do not need walking (it's hard work!), unless you wish to do it - they have an acre of ground to play in, and are generally couch potatoes. They love human company, but they can be left for several hours at a time.

What are the good features of the property and location

Well, for a start you have a choice of whether to stay in the beautiful old Victorian upper villa flat (our main home) or the brand new eco house (our retirement home, currently a holiday let until we're ready to make the move). Write to us through MindMyHouse for a link to our website - it will tell you everything you need to know.
We live about a mile outside the beautiful village of Peebles and are surrounded by open countryside. We have amazing views. Both houses have all mod-cons.
We're less than an hour's drive from Edinburgh.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

As mentioned earlier, they must be comfortable & confident with bull terriers (& chickens, I suppose). we are slightly out of town, a mile from the nearest supermarket & half a mile from the nearest shop, so must either enjoy walking/cycling or have access to a car & feel ok in a slightly isolated location (although we have good neighbours).
Would be better to come a couple of days early to get to know the dogs & the quirks of the house(s).

Discover an adventure today - Register now.