Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Charming Home in San Miguel de Allende!

  • This house is in: Mexico, San Miguel De Allende
  • Period available: 4 weeks
  • Starts: 2 January 2017
  • Ends: 31 January 2017
  • Are there any pets to look after?
    Yes, Rosie and Daisy are my two doggies.

About this assignment

Hi there Prospective Sitters!

I don't have any exact dates at the moment, but I have a desire to get away for a week or more in January 2017. I'd like to go to the coast of Mexico, so if you have a house somewhere nice, in Zijua, Puerto Vallarta, Sayalita, or? and want to exchange, that's a possibility as well. I could watch your pets and plants and house whilst you watch mine?

First, let me say that if we are a good match for each other, and you need to come earlier or later, that is fine, just let me know your available dates, and I might well be able to adjust things to suit!

I've had the pleasure of meeting some wonderful sitters through this site in the past couple of years, and I expect to do the same in the future. Perhaps you will be the next.

I look for people who are very responsible and reliable, and mature. Mentally and physically well, and friendly to passersby and neighbors. I need people who truly love dogs, not just tolerate them, who really do watch over the house and plants, and it helps if you know how to light a hot water heater if it goes out, and keep the grounds and house reasonably clean. I prefer non-smokers, and no drugs, no loud parties. I am partial to retired people.

You would be staying in my guest room, so these dates are actually allowing for you to come before I leave and stay after I'm back, just in case of cancelled flight, or whatever.

I seem to have lost all my photos with recent computer repairs. I will try to reproduce them and get them up soon, but believe me, the house is clean, large, and comfortable.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Spend every night here with the dogs, feed them, make sure the water bowls are clean and full, play a bit each day, brush them every other day (not difficult, and they love it). There is a garden with lots of potted plants, and you will be responsible to water just about every day.

I want someone who will keep in touch a couple of times a week to let me know how things are going. So you must use email! Must be fluent in English, and it would be very helpful if you speak some Spanish, but not imperative.

Be a little handy, and mature enough to know how to safely use appliances and, as mentioned, light a hot water heater if needs be. You do not need to walk the dogs, but will need to keep their mess cleaned up a couple times a day. They have a part of the yard or courtyard for this purpose, and I sweep up and wash down with water every day.

You should buy your own food and beverages so I have mine when I return, and clean up after yourself even though a cleaner will come once a week. Do not burn or cut foods in the pots and pans, and don't toss nice sharp knives in with other dishes or cutlery...I love cooking, so if you use my stuff, you need to keep it nice please!

I will collect a security deposit of $350 usd when you make a reservation with me. If you do not show up, leave early, or destroy stuff, that's what I'll use to make it better. You will pay the cleaner ($300 pesos per visit). I will pay for the electricity, the rent on the house, the phone (do not use it for anything but Mexico and the US!), etc. You are responsible for whatever you use...paper products, food, drink. If there is a changing of tenants in the attached apartment, you will make sure my cleaner gets in there to make it ready for the next guest, and you would meet and greet the next guest when they arrive. There are a few things to be done, and I'll go over that with you. I will also compensate you if this happens more than once during your stay. If a new tenant comes while you're in charge, you will need to introduce them to the dogs and share information about the dogs, etc. It's very important that the dogs do not get out, and so everyone coming and going must be aware that there is a risk, and use the door appropriately.

What are the good features of the property and location

This is a large and comfortable home in a wonderful close-to-everything location! You will have a comfortable queen bed and a twin bed, as well as a peaceful environment.

You will be located a few minutes walk from everything San Miguel has to offer. San Miguel de Allende is a World Heritage city, an art colony, and a beautiful place to stay. It was declared "Worlds Most Desirable Vacation Destination" by Conde Nast Magazine.

You can take art classes, study Spanish, or just take it easy. There are hot springs, spas, horse back riding and much more available to you. There is a lot of music here, whether Jazz, classical, Latin, opera, etc, etc.

FYI: you will share the laundry room.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

I am also interested in home exchanging to certain places, so feel free to discuss that too. If you want to stay a few days longer, that is just fine! No smoking indoors!

Must be respectful of neighbors. Mexico is a noisy country, and there will be noise here as well. I don't want anyone here who makes enemies by being rude to any neighbor. (I say this because one sitter heard a fellow who passes each day selling something or other. His call is funny sounding, to be sure...but this sitter actually mocked him by mimicking his call). I cannot have anyone here with such bad judgement. I live here, and these folks and I will be neighbors for a long time. I need mature, respectful and tolerant sitters.

I do not care how many hours per day you are out enjoying yourselves, but I do want my dogs talked to petted, and played with and allowed in the house with you when you are home. If you toss the ball and toys, brush them and give them love, you do not have to walk them. The street dogs are a problem that I want you to avoid.

I want the house, my cooking utensils, linens, etc to be kept in as good a condition as when you got here.

Also, you will have to be agreeable to learn something about how things are done in Mexico, like how to get the garbage out, that sort of thing. It should be fun to learn, and I will teach you everything! ( I am a 69 year old woman, and if I can learn it, so can you!)

Also, last but not least, I do not want strangers (to me) brought into my home. This could present a future danger for me and my guests. So I ask that, if you want to invite folks over, you get my approval first. I'll be reachable by email or phone or skype.

Discover an adventure today - Register now.

Top