Skip to Content Skip to Navigation Skip to Sitemap

Sitter wanted for Beautiful Hertfordshire countryside setting April 2016: (1st-11th ish) Exact Dates TBC

  • This house is in: United Kingdom, Tring
  • Period available: 1 week
  • Starts: 1 April 2016
  • Ends: 11 April 2016
  • Are there any pets to look after?
    x4 Dogs x1 Cat x4 Rabbits x6 Chickens

About this assignment

We are looking for a lovely lively couple who adore animals to look after our pets and shabby chic abode so that we may be able to fully relax on holiday next year. (My brother nearly burned down the house, he also left midweek to go elsewhere and lost our house keys whilst we were on holiday this year.) I think our house and location would be fantastic for writers, artists or any body that really likes to get out and about to explore the countryside. It is beautiful here.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

We have 4 lively dogs that would need walking, food, water and lots of fussing each day!! We also have 1 cat that requires food and fuss. We have 4 lovely ladies & 2 tiny cockerels in the front garden who also share their abode with 4 friendly rabbits, all of whom require food and water each day. The grass will need mowing once a week and the veggie patch and poly tunnel will need watering regularly (Seasonal). I'm afraid with dogs comes the inevitable, I find a quick poop a scoop in the morning is enough. Once the dogs have been walked in the morning they are happy and chilled out all day so you are free to do as you please!

What are the good features of the property and location

We are a semi-detached property, one of 8 properties in our small hamlet, set amongst the Chiltern Hills. We are surrounded by stunning countryside from every window. Ashridge Forest can be seen and also the Ridgeway path runs very close by. There are two villages nearby, one up the hill and one down the hill, 15-20 mins walk each with fabulous village pubs. There is also a pub in another nearby hamlet, 10mins walk away. We are also extremely close to the Grand Union canal for beautiful walks and fishing. Off road parking, free standing bath, beautiful king Size bed, Sky Plus TV downstairs and also in spare room. Our property has a multi fuel burner in the kitchen which heats the house & water, if the fire is not running you have the option of using electric heaters and an electric immersion for hot water. You will be more than welcome to help yourselves to any fruit or vegetables that are ready whilst we are away and of course, fresh eggs for breakfast. Bliss.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

Our 4 dogs are: Sibling small Heinx 57's, 1 lurcher & 1 German shepherd. They are lovely and once they have been walked will just chill out all day in our lovely gardens or in the kitchen in front of the fire. They are lively and applicants must be able to handle them on a lead. Once in nearby fields, they can be let off and are obedient. Tesco, nearest town (Tring), the post office & train station (easily walkable): London Midland: Tring - Euston direct, are all 5 mins drive. Our house is not perfect but it is home, we love it and hope that you do too. Any questions, please email :)

Discover an adventure today - Register now.