Skip to Content Skip to Navigation Skip to Sitemap

Gite Complex/Smallholding Western France

  • This house is in: France, La Rochelle
  • Dates: variable
  • Are there any pets to look after?
    Pig, geese, duck, chickens

About this assignment

Someone who is good with animals, reliable and caring. Able to take responsibility for the smallholding when the owners are away and cope on their own. Somebody with common sense and able to take the initiative. We would prefer a mature couple, or two friends, as it is much better to share the workload and that leaves the day free to enjoy.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Looking after lots of hens, 1 duck, 4 geese, and a pet pig while we take a break. All the animals have a good routine and are easy to care for, even if you have little experience of farm animals. As we are planning to be away for 3-6 months there will also be a requirement to keep the grass cut (ride-on mower) and the grounds tidy. Some basic DIY skills would be helpful in case anything goes wrong while we are away.

What are the good features of the property and location

We are close to the Atlantic coast (La Rochelle/Rochefort) in western France. Sunny climate, quiet location, edge of hamlet, 5 Kms to nearest shops but baker calls most days. 3 Acres of private grounds, very peaceful but with all modern conveniences (WIFI, broadband, satellite TV), swimming pool.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

This is a very quiet location, not isolated, but you will need a vehicle. Duties include feeding and watering the animals first thing in the morning and closing them all in at night, so you need to be here every day first and last thing. Some French would be helpful, but we do have English speaking friends in the village.  We would prefer a couple. Accommodation in 2 bedroom cottage.We would like to leave around mid to end September, but are very flexible on dates.

Discover an adventure today - Register now.