Skip to Content Skip to Navigation Skip to Sitemap

Perth - Extra pair of non-smoking hands!

  • This house is in: United Kingdom, Perth
  • Dates: variable

About this assignment

Mum with 2 small boys and large, old townhouse over 4 levels seeks extra pair of non-smoking hands in exchange for bed and board. Orry is in the first year of school and Henry (3) attends nursery for a short time in the afternoon.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

If you have an interest and / or experience in any of the following please get in touch: hoovering / dusting, cooking, general housekeeping, gardening, weeding, lawncare, fixing minor things around the house, sanding, painting preparation, painting, sash window renovation (painting, puttying, recording).

I am happy to play to your strengths but you may be asked to help with whatever is the priority, be it hoovering, washing up, weeding or playing with children.

You would need to be an early riser - breakfast is usually at 7 with work from 7.30 - 1230 with a quick cup of tea mid-morning. Weekends are free. Sometimes you may be asked to babysit in exchange for time off the next day. You would be expected to help with clearing up meals although if you can cook you are excused clearing up! Weekday meals are with the family. At weekends you can prepare something for yourself at a time that suits you or take a packed lunch out if you are going on a day trip.

What are the good features of the property and location

You will have your own double room & bathroom in a flat attached to the house. You will also have use of a second room although if we take on a second helpx you will share the bathroom with them.

We are in central Perth opposite a park. In the photo it is the house on the LHS with the yellow door & 6 windows. Rail station 2 mins walk. Town centre 5 mins walk. Excellent road connections all directions. Edinburgh and Glasgow are both approx one hour distant and there is superb surrounding countryside.

Weekends are free to spend as you like though food is available and you can take a picnic away with you if you like. I can take you to Scottish ceilidh dances, locally or in Edinburgh if you are interested and can introduce you to young people (if you are young!). Again, if you are interested we might have a day out somewhere. If you just want to do your own thing, that is fine too. There are language courses available in Perth and I can help you find out about these if you are interested.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

If you are in good health and can provide the email or telephone numbers of 2 recent referees from paid work, voluntary work, helpx or similar, then I look forward to hearing from you! While not mandatory, a recent enhanced CRB certificate (police clearance check) would be hugely advantageous.

Discover an adventure today - Register now.