Skip to Content Skip to Navigation Skip to Sitemap

Great farm life opportunity, short or long term (animal au-pair)

  • This house is in: United Kingdom, Tamworth
  • Dates: variable

About this assignment

This is a unique opportunity for you to try the small holding life style. We are looking for male or female animal au-pairs/animal nannys. If you like this idea then keep reading. Are you used to domestic and farm animals? Abroad or home applicants may apply. Short stay or long stay. We are looking for people who are not afraid of getting dirty by mucking out.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

Help care for several animals. Mucking out, feeding, petting and caring in general. Dog walking. Basically anything to do with caring for all our animals to help give me a break anytime during the year to suit.

What are the good features of the property and location

We have recently moved into a 4-bed house which has 5 and a half acres of land for the animals. We are located close to local village and one minute walk from bus route into the city. Very quiet location and rural setting but not so remote that you can't access town life easily without a car. Direct access to many miles of country walks and bike riding tracks if you feel energetic or just want to chill out.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

The work can be dirty due to mucking out but fun. This can be a long term sitting or short term sitting and free board and lodgings are provided. Can be used as a work experience or a chance to get away from it all experience. At present we have 1 dog, 9 cats, 10 goats, various small caged animals including rabbits, guinea pigs and chinchillas, 1 breeding pig, 2 breeding sheep, 6 ducks, 1 parakeet and 3 rats! We are a small animal rescue center and children's petting farm open to the public. So numbers of animals may increase as time goes on. We have already gained 2 shetland ponies this week to add to the family. So you must be prepared for other animals as they arrive.
This is not a holiday sitting but a chance to try a different life style if you want. The opportunity is available all year round either long term or short term to suit. It is to enable me to have some time to myself with my husband who does not work on the holding but home each night. My daughter is at home but studying at uni at the moment. Every hour of mine is taken up with the animals so I need help. Help!
I thought this could be a great way of sorting  out help for me as I have a back problem. It could also be an opportunity for the right person/persons. Although this sounds time consuming you will have plenty of free time on your hands to explore the surrounding area and further afar if you wish. I am very flexible and can let you know further details as required. Thank you and look forward to hearing from you all! Jackie

Discover an adventure today - Register now.