Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

House/Cat Sitters needed in a Cotswold Country Cottage

  • This house is in: United Kingdom, Hawkesbury Upton
  • Period available: 3 weeks, 2 days
  • Starts: 14 December 2016
  • Ends: 6 January 2017
  • They have no testimonials
  • Are there any pets to look after?
    2 cats, one oriental and one English moggy
  • Last updated: 15 October 2016

About this assignment

Non smokers who love cats and enjoy living in a country village.

What responsibilities are required of the house sitter

We are looking for cat lovers who will feed (twice daily) and fuss our rather young and chatty oriental cat plus a more independent moggy, plus keep the house tidy.. Our oriental cat is now just over 3 years old, she (Smoke) is an oriental she loves attention and loves to be with people and is a more indoor than outdoor cat. She was a rescue cat and had never been outside until last summer so she still uses a cat lit tray, in fact she will come in out of the garden to use the tray! This means it needs emptying and cleaning regularly. Our boy (Shadow) is 2 years old and is an independent moggy who likes to be outdoors, loves his food, does not lap sit but will deign to let you stroke him, we try keep him in after dark if we can (we have a lockable cat flap),

What are the good features of the property and location

We live in a small village near Badminton with 2 village pubs serving food, one of those specialising in Italian food and wine, a village store, a post office and a good hairdresser. There is a large supermarket within 8 miles and a shopping centre and sports complex with swimming pool, gym etc in the same area. Malls within 20 miles. Wonderful countryside for walking, the house is near the Cotswold way. Picturesque villages nearby such as Castle Combe and near by Bath (12 miles approx) and the spas, Bristol, Gloucester and Cirencester are also within easy distance. Our cottage is made of stone and has 2 bedrooms up some slightly steep stairs, a sitting room with wood burning stove, a dining room, kitchen and a downstairs bathroom which contains the wc, we have central heating throughout in addition to the wood burning stove. At the back of the house we have a small patio with a gas bbq, a stone table, folding chairs are available, in the corner is a tiny pond with a few goldfish and one Koi carp and a small fountain. The garden is quite small, with a patch of lawn and a greenhouse at the bottom. Wifi is also available if wanted. We have parking for a car on our drive. We do not have room for a large motor caravan off road - but there is parking nearby where you can park a large vehicle. We have had house sitters for a number of years now and can provide you their email addresses if you would like an unbiased option.

What does the house sitter need to consider before applying for this assignment

House sitters really need their own transport, although there are buses that come through the village they are not very frequent The cottage is small with slightly steep stairs that would not suit a person with major mobility problems, I have arthritic knees and can still manage the stairs ok. Like a lot of old cottages our bathroom is downstairs.


This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

Discover an adventure today - Register now.