Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Experienced and reliable house sitters extraordinaire!

Canada

Testimonials

They have 2 testimonial s (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Farm animal(s) – Horses, dogs, cats, chickens, fish.

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 13 September 2021
Until: 31 December 2023

Occupation

Retired

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

We are Leon and Barbara, retirees aged 71 and 70 years respectively, born and bred in Australia but having lived in Canada for the past forty-five years. We have been happily married for forty-nine years and are non-smokers and non-drinkers. Having lived and traveled in various countries in our twenties, we now wish to do more of the same in our retirement years. Upon retiring ten years ago, we sold our large family house where we had bought up our four children and spent a year house sitting our way around Australia. We returned to Canada and purchased another smaller house just north of Cobourg, an hour east of Toronto.

We are looking for house sits that give us the opportunity of
seeing places we have never been to. Also because of a son-in-law's allergy to both cats and dogs we have a pet free house so we look for opportunities to enjoy other people's pets. Over the years we have loved and looked after a variety of dogs and cats, both our own as well as those belonging to other home exchangers and home owners.

Why they want to house sit

In addition to a total of fifteen sits we have been members of a home
exchange club for twenty years and have enjoyed over forty wonderful home exchanges around the world. We thoroughly enjoy both house sitting and home exchanging and being able to experience different areas around the world 'like a local'. Authentic, out-of-the-way places hold more interest for us than those on the tourist trail, though we are open to most safe locations in the world. We enjoy quieter, less hurried vacations, visiting local towns and villages, shopping where the locals shops, and golfing (Leon) and water colour painting (Barbara) in our spare time.

Their experience

We have successfully completed fifteen sits, including six weeks in
Greece reestablishing gardens and doing some minor repairs for a
rental villa, and two months in Western Australia looking after a farm
stay operation. In the latter, we took bookings, met and looked after
guests, and eventually took over the cleaning of the chalets. In
addition, we have worked for a period of eleven years as property
caretakers for two high profile Toronto stockbrokers on their country
estates. Our duties included mowing acreage, gardening, house
cleaning, cooking, chauffeuring, babysitting, carpentry projects, pond
and pool and equipment maintenance and repairs, and sourcing and
working with various sub-contractors. On request we can provide you wiith excellent references for both our house sitting and care taking jobs.

What can they bring to the assignment

Leon is the proverbial 'Mr. Fix It'. He has had many years of
experience in plumbing, carpentry, construction, electrical and
mechanical jobs. Before coming to Canada, he worked in construction in England and South Africa and also as a mechanic in Durban. For 34 years he managed a family-run flour mill north of Toronto. Over the years he has renovated four of our own houses, installing bathrooms, windows, and constructing several garages. Barbara has run her own custom drapery business for twenty years, working with her own clients as well as those of several interior designers.

Available to house sit

Africa, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Canada, Caribbean, Colombia, Croatia, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Moldova, Nepal, Netherlands, North East Asia, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Taiwan, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Availability dates

From: 13 September 2021
Until: 31 December 2023

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2012

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 2

Testimonials

House sit in Southern Spain

Leon and Barbara were the perfect house sitters for my house and cat in Southern Spain. They love mountain villages and experiencing different cultures. They quickly adapted to life in a small Spanish village. Leon immediately bonded with my elderly cat Bobby and I felt confident he would be well looked after and get lots of cuddles. It was a great relief as he can be unsure of some people and take time to gain trust. The house was well cared for and Leon is skilled in dealing with any problems that came up. Both Leon and Barbara are very friendly and interesting people who have years of experience of house sitting. I can recommend them wholeheartedly and would happily welcome them back here.

Wendy, Spain, 15 April, 2022

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

Calm and experienced

Barb and Leon house/pet sat for us for two weeks this past February. We were able to have a video chat before hand, but due to our schedule we had another couple orient and "turn over the reins" to Barb and Leon, in our absence. The transition was smooth and it was evident that they were very experienced and capable housesitters, Leon is a cat whisperer and our cat Lenny was very comfortable in his care (as were our chickens). On arrival home the house was very clean and tidy. We highly recommend Leon and Barb.

susan, United States, 15 April, 2022

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 9 April 2022