Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Sensible, well seasoned, mature,and experienced..That’s me. Nice to meet you

New Zealand

Testimonials

They have 3 testimonial s (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Rodent(s), Pig(s), Goat(s), Reptile(s), Farm animal(s), Other animal(s) – Dogs large and small, cats,mice,hens, donkeys,tropical fish, horses, elephants, snakes,

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 23 November 2020
Until: 14 February 2026
(see their busy times below)

Occupation

Tourism consultant/manager

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

I'm highly reliable, educated, fit, practical,clean and tidy, great sense of humour, seasoned, intelligent and mobile ! Previous career in tourism development, but also cared for both an elderly father post-stroke, and cared for two friends w terminal cancer until their deaths, so companionship and nursing duties also no problem.
I love new places, people and animals big or small, a garden to look after, and can happily while away time in a kitchen cooking for me, and /or others and pets. I'm outgoing but happy on my own, so wherever you live isn't a problem.
I prefer use of car if available with no/low cost utilities,and Wifi access if possible.
You'll have total peace of mind, I really do care for your home and any loved animals as you do.
Plus I'll stay in touch with you as often, or as seldom, as you wish.
If you've got spoiled pooches or fabulous felines who prefer company during the night and are used to sleeping in bedrooms, that's all OK too... exercise, feeding, cleaning and affection delivered regularly, and with a smile.

Why they want to house sit

I've already proved myself happily versatile and capable, having spent half of 2013 in the Sth African bush with 10 dogs, ( references available) and 10 months of the last few years sitting 16 rescue dogs in a Mexican village.from Cyprus to California. (Reference available) I loved it all; the places, the owners and all their animals. and I'm here to help other owners get a break like they did, knowing everyone at home are just fine and dandy.

Their experience

I've previously and successfully house sat many times, with and without animals to care for, in many countries around the world. I'm honest, fit and highly reliable. I'll also follow your own routines as animals or any aged parent/guests/staff might expect.
During these periods, I've also had responsibility for business security, home security, payments to contractors/suppliers,, gardening, and caring for multiple dogs, many cats, ; sheep, goats, hens, a horse and donkeys on occasion. No poop too big, and no animals unwelcome to care for. I'd prefer the use of a car depending on the area, and have driven in many countries around the world, and am accident free.

What can they bring to the assignment

I'm a proven,resourceful Kiwi woman who happens to generally be a bit of an "animal whisperer", and loves animals and travel, most enjoyed by staying a decent period of time in new places. I'm fit , calm and sensible, and I've a few green fingers. I've a yen to live in interesting countries, making new friends of owners and animals alike, and I've got great references, I'm absolutely reliable, discreet and happy to consider anywhere of interest.
As a homeowner too, I know it's important to feel comfortable with me so I'm happy to call you or Skype you to chat.
I speak some basicf Spanish, German and. French, and I'm pretty adept in a crisis, and with the intelligence to solve problems as they might arise. I'm also culturally sensitive and get on welll with others..
I'm a keen walker, reader and writer, and enjoy pottering in the kitchen, library, garden, barns and fields, accessible markets, galleries, and cafes, so time doesn't hang heavily on me.
I'm happy to arrive early before you leave if needed, and so could drop off or pick up owners,



From: Sandra k
Date: 8 August 2014 2:55:57 PM NZDT

Nicola came to Mexico and looked after my pets and home for 3 months. She was great with all 13 dogs, and took great care of them as well as my garden. The house was all clean and welcoming when I got back, and I'm hoping she's going to come back in 2015 and sit for me again. That's how great she was.
Sandra K


From: vicki clynes
Date: 8 January 2013 9:25:11 PM NZDT
To: n.smith.rose@gmail.com
Subject: Reference for house / dog sitting
To Whom it Concerns
My partner Matt and I want to recommend Nicola Smith, as a trusted and successful houusesitter for  us, after staying in our Sydney apartment with our standard black poodle, Tiny.
Tiny is prone to heat stroke in our hot climate and we needed someone who would take Tiny out for walks before sunrise and after sunset, while also taking care of our apartment and house plants.
Nicola agreed to arrive a day before we left so we could ensure Tiny was happy with her, and she knew what needed to be done for him and the plants. She also dropped us off and picked us up from our trip using our car, which made things really easy for us.
She was a hit with Tiny, as he pined when she left, the plants had never looked perkier, and we found the apartment even cleaner than we'd had the time to leave it.
We'd welcome her back any time and warmly recommend her to anyone else wanting a animal friendly and responsible person to look after any pets or homes.
Regards
Vicki  and Matt
Sydney
Australia

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Brazil, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cyprus, Ecuador, Fiji, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Peru, Portugal, Singapore, South Africa, South East Asia, South Pacific, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Venezuela, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 23 November 2020
Until: 14 February 2026

They have indicated that they are busy at the following times:
27 June 2019 to 5 July 2019, 24 September 2019 to 23 October 2019, 29 March 2019 to 12 April 2019, 28 May 2019 to 4 July 2019, 6 August 2019 to 13 August 2019

Do they charge?

They charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2012

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 4

Testimonials

Great House/Pet Sitter

Nicola recently house/pet sat for 6 weeks for me. She is a warm and caring person who I immediately felt comfortable with. She took excellent care of my aging cat and 2 chickens and was a cleaning whirlwind in the house. She is very attentive to the animals in her care and became my cat's best friend within a week. I'd have no second thoughts about having her house/pet sit again. She is a real treasure. Thank you Nicola.

Tim, United States, 10 July, 2019

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

House&Pet Sitter

Nicola traveled from NZ to look after my pack of rescue cats and dogs ( 22 in total) in 2014 and 2015. She was great with all the animals, and clearly loves all animals. She was even feeding the donkey down my lane. Joey still occasionally bellows for her. She was great with bathing, brushing and feeding routines, and the animals all responded really well to her. She's a reliable and responsible sitter with green fingers as well, as all my plants thrived as well as the pack. I'd highly recommend her to anyone wanting a reliable, amiable and trustworthy sitter

sandra , Mexico, 06 June, 2017

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

The BEST!

Nicola was simply the best house and dogsitter anyone could want. She bonded immediately with the pups, went above and beyond her duties to recognize the big guy had an ear infection (she then treated it!), and cleaned up our garden, as well as planted new plants, to the point that it was barely recognizable when we got home. She's bright, interesting, personable and just an all around great gal! Reliable, honest, responsible, prompt, efficient, fun. These are just a few of the qualities Nicola brings to the table. We'd have her back in a heartbeat! The dogs miss her terribly!

gabrielle, United States, 06 June, 2017

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 26 January 2022