Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Leave your worries behind - we will take care of things for you

United States

Testimonials

They have 2 testimonial s (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Fish, Pig(s), Goat(s), Farm animal(s) – We have experience with most farm animals and dogs and cats.

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 16 December 2019
Until: 1 May 2020

Occupation

Not stated

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

We are two professionals, married and semi-retired. We are non-smokers. Both of us are in excellent health. We are experienced travellers and house sitters who promise to look after your home and pets as if they were our own.

Since we started to housesit we have lovingly taken care of cats, dogs, goats, geese, and a flock of chickens during 8 house sits in Germany, Romania, France, Kenya, Thailand, Vietnam, Spain and Canada. The houses have varied from stone cottages in rural Europe to high-rise apartments in Asia. We have also provided daily company during a housesit for an 85 year old woman. We read to her and accompanied her on outings.

We understand that house and pet sitting comes with great responsibilities. Our top priority is to ensure that your home and pets are safe and secure and that you have peace of mind while you are away.

We absolutely love animals and the only reason why we do not have any pets of our own at the moment is that we travel 4 to 6 months of the year. We would be sure to give your pets all of the love, care, and attention they desire. We will be respectful of any boundaries you may have set regarding behaviour and furniture etc. Their routine will be maintained, they will be fed to your instructions and they will never be left alone for longer than necessary.

While you are away we will communicate with you as you require with updates and photos of your home and pets.

Once chosen for a sit we will provide booked travel arrangements to show our commitment and give you peace of mind.

Why they want to house sit

We see house sitting as an incredible opportunity to create long-lasting friendships with wonderful homeowners and pets from all around the world.

We know how difficult it is to leave your house and pets for extended periods of time and how important it is to have a trustworthy sitter. We want to offer you the assurance that you will not have to worry about things when you are away.

House sitting would also fill a need for us as well, in that we would be able to obtain a better feel for the countries that we visit by staying in one place for a time period and living with the locals.

Their experience

We have house and pet sat in Canada, Spain, Germany, France, Transylvania, Kenya, Thailand, Vietnam, Nicaragua, Columbia, China and India.

What can they bring to the assignment

We have lived in a country setting for a large part of our lives and we are extremely good at problem solving and dealing with situations as they come up. We have owned pets over our lifetime and we have had several dogs, mostly German Shepherds, and also several cats. We also have experience keeping buffalo, cows, pigs, horses, chickens and geese. We work well with both domestic as well as farm animals.

We have been homeowners for the past 35 years. We are resourceful, adaptable and mature. We know how to garden. We are reliable, honest, trustworthy and can be fully depended upon to fulfill any and all requests that we have agreed to. We keep a very clean house and will keep yours impeccably clean. We are handy. We are self reliant. We are comfortable and happy in a variety of living situations, with or without modern conveniences. We are easy going and have a sense of humour. We take things in stride and we are rarely rattled by circumstances.

We hold clean driving licences spanning over 40 years and we have experience driving in Europe and Africa.

We are experienced house and pet sitters who take this role seriously and you can be assured that your home and pets will be safe while under our care. You will be happy that you picked us to care for your home and animals!

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Laos, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Middle East, Moldova, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, North East Asia, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela

Availability dates

From: 16 December 2019
Until: 1 May 2020

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2013

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old
Family status: Couple

Testimonials

Our dog loved them! We too!

Barbara and her husband were our last housesitters. Although the arrival was a little bit complicated, everything else was perfect! They took care for our old dog Oskar and for our little house. It was really a win-win-situation. They loved to be here. And we loved to have them in our home. We knew from the first moment that we can trust them completely. When we came back from our holidays, we find everything perfect at home. We would like to see them again, when they are nearby. Dear Barbara, we wish you both a lot of time for travelling and housesitting. Best wishes from Angela and Stephan!

Angela and Stephan, Germany, 16 January, 2020

  • Tidy
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly

Lovely couple from Amerika

Dear Barbara, sorry for writing so late about your house sitting in our home! After your arrival everything was wonderful. Our dog Oskar loved you from the first moment. (Unfortunately he died this February with 16 1/2 years.) We felt at once, that we can trust you and give our little home into your hands. When we came back home after two or three weeks, everything was fine. Love to hear from you, when you are again in Southern Germany! For a short stay we have one guest room now, because our first son Max is already living alone in Mannheim, so his room is usually free. If you want reliable and friendly people in your home, then take Barbara Zailo and her husband as a house sitter! Thank you again. Angela and Stephan

Angela and Stephan, Germany, 06 November, 2019

  • Tidy
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 25 September 2019