Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Experienced bilingual couple available to care for your home/pets

United States


They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish – We love dogs and cats! During our 36+ years of married life, we've had three Golden Retrievers, two English Springer Spaniels, two cats, two horses, and multiple peach-faced lovebirds. On the 19 house-sits we have completed, 14 assignments included pet

Police check

They have a police check


From: 1 October 2023
Until: 31 May 2024




They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

We are a bilingual (English/Mexican Spanish) married couple, available to care for your home either short- or long-term. Our house/pet-sitting services are completely FREE to homeowners.

We worked and lived in México for over eleven years, from 2001 to 2012. Husband is retired after three distinct careers, and is now double-certified to teach both English and Spanish to speakers of other languages. In retirement, husband has his own translation business. Wife is a retired Registered Nurse with over 30 years of hospital experience, mainly in emergency medicine, plus eleven years of non-medical work in México.

Why they want to house sit

For us, international house-sitting is an affordable way to experience different parts of the world from the perspective of a local resident. It enables us to escape the cold and extreme winds of our hometown in northern Colorado, USA, during the winter months, and to live in a more agreeable climate. We enjoy being able to care for houses and pets while the owners are away, giving them peace of mind. It's a "win-win" situation for everyone!

We love having the freedom of being able to work or stay in touch with family and friends from anywhere by simply plugging in our laptops.

Only rarely have we been able to meet homeowners before accepting an assignment as we've usually been in a different country, So please don't be put off by the fact that we're not "local." We can chat on Skype, WhatsApp, or FaceTime to become acquainted.

Their experience

Since 2013, between the two of us, we've completed 24 house-sitting assignments in 7 different countries.

From Jan. 20 through May 30, 2013, we were on a house-sitting assignment on the Caribbean island of Vieques, Puerto Rico. On Vieques, we cared for four dogs, a feral cat and a home with extensive tropical gardens.

From Sept. 4 to Oct. 24, 2013, husband completed a solo 7-week house-sitting assignment in Cuernavaca, Morelos, México, caring for three dogs and providing security by his presence in a colonial-style house with lush tropical gardens.

In early 2014, we completed a 3-month house-sitting assignment on the Greek island of Corfu, in the Ionian Sea near the Greece-Albania border. We cared for a guest villa that is rented to tourists from mid-April through October, providing security by our presence during the off-season.

In 2014, husband completed another solo 6-week house/pet-sitting assignment at the same home in México where he had been in the autumn of 2013. The homeowners were so pleased with his work that they paid his airfare (unheard of!) to return for a second assignment!

In 2015, we did three house/pet-sitting assignments over a 3-month period: one in New Zealand and two in Australia. Also in autumn of 2015, husband completed a 6-week solo assignment in a beachfront house on the Pacific coast of Panamá.

For three months in early 2016, we cared for a house in the small village of Xul-Ha, in the Mexican state of Quintana Roo, at the southern part of the Yucatán peninsula. Husband completed a month-long solo house/pet-sitting assignment on the Caribbean island of Vieques, Puerto Rico, in October 2016.

In January, 2017, we completed a 3-1/2 week house/pet-sit in Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, México. And we also did an 11-week house/pet-sit in Álamos, Sonora, México, from February to May, 2017.

Husband did a 3-week solo house/pet-sit near Mérida, Yucatán, México, in the autumn of 2017.

In the winter/spring of 2018, we completed a 2-1/2 month house/pet-sitting assignment in Mandurah, Western Australia, and husband did a solo 5-week house-sit in Progreso, Yucatán, México.

Early 2019 found us on 3 assignments in México: a 2-week house/pet-sit in San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato; a 3-1/2 week house-sit in Progreso, Yucatán; and a 3-week house/pet-sit in Mérida, Yucatán.

In winter/spring 2020, we completed 6 weeks of a 10-week house/pet-sit in Chiang Mai, Thailand, which was cut short by the COVID-19 pandemic.

We did a 6-week house/pet-sit in San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato, México, in the spring of 2021, followed by a 3-week house/pet-sit assignment in a remote location in the state of Jalisco, on the Pacific coast of México.

In 2022, we did a month-long house/pet-sit in Hato Rey, San Juan, Puerto Rico. And we also did a house/pet-sit in Dorado, Puerto Rico over Easter weekend.

We have traveled throughout México, Central America and Puerto Rico, and are culturally sensitive and respectful. We have also traveled in Italy, Greece, England, Wales, Belgium, Norway, Iceland, Australia, Thailand, and New Zealand.

What can they bring to the assignment

We are mature, experienced, flexible, reliable, honest, trustworthy, and clean and tidy around the house. We enjoy dogs, cats, horses, and birds. In our 38 years together, we've had three Golden Retrievers, two English Springer Spaniels, two horses, two cats and numerous peach-faced lovebirds. We're non-smokers, and we helped design and literally built our own home. As homeowners ourselves, and as landlords of long-term rental properties, we know what it means to treat your home as if it were our own. We also know the importance of security, so we'll be alert and keep a watchful eye on your property while you're away. Having lived/worked in México for over eleven years, we're bilingual and bi-cultural. We have impeccable references (ask and we'll send them) and FBI background checks, and look forward to hearing from you.

Available to house sit

Argentina, Australia, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Caribbean, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cyprus, Ecuador, Fiji, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Indonesia, Italy, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, New Zealand, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, South Pacific, Spain, Thailand, United States, Uruguay

Availability dates

From: 1 October 2023
Until: 31 May 2024

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2013

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1


Great house- and petsitters!

Dave and Sue took care of our beloved pets for 3 weeks in January, 2017. We live in a neighborhood where little English is spoken, and they both handled things beautifully. We would be happy to have either of them or both of them (Dave housesits on his own part of the year) housesit and care for our pets again!

Gayle, Mexico, 13 March, 2017

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Friendly


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 16 May 2023