Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Michael and Emilie, teacher / writer & ecology climate resilience and sustainability worker

United Kingdom


They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Goat(s), Farm animal(s), Other animal(s) – Dogs, cats (better if outside), chickens, goats, gardens, general farm work (limited experience but enjoy it)

Police check

They have a police check


From: 31 March 2022
Until: 1 September 2023


Fiction writer and climate change researcher


They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

We are a married couple for many years now, and we are in our 40s. Michael is a fiction
writer and university English professor, and Emilie, who has worked in global
humanitarian/climate change resilience and sustainable community development programs around the world, completed a doctoral research degree from Oxford University's
School of Geography and Environment in 2019. We moved to Thailand from the UK, but with COVID 19 lockdowns, had to help family, and then were invited to the Big Island by Hawaiian community groups, to help support their social and ecological regeneration efforts.
We are non-smoking, very clean, responsible and low-key folks. We've lived in many corners of the world and often housesit, we enjoy meeting new people of every ilk and culture, and are generally flexible, adaptable people.

Why they want to house sit

We enjoy living in different countries and experiencing diverse cultures. We both write as well as teach and engage with community and garden care. Housesitting offers a way to travel more affordably and have a chance to see what life is like in other places. This is also a way to experience learning about daily life in a given locale, develop relationships with the people and other animals in a place, and contribute something while being there. We enjoy being out in nature and exploring new places.

Their experience

We are both non-smokers, and have had experience housesitting and tending people's gardens or caring for pets in Thailand, Hawaii, the UK, France, Austria, Estonia, East Africa, DC, California and Boston MA. Emilie has also lived in and cared for people's homes (and pets) in Haiti while working there following the earthquake, in Niger when responding to a local food emergency, and in Sri Lanka while working in the conflict zone. We are both even-keeled, accustomed to managing large spaces and keeping operations functioning well in the most challenging of circumstances. In Hawaii we have cared for regenerative food systems and gardens, and have done some landscape care as well as construction (for a temple and a school as well as community project buildings and fishponds, and supported ecosystems recovery in mountainous areas).

What can they bring to the assignment

We are very reliable, responsible and highly considerate people. We have a great respect for other people and an appreciation of what it means to open one's doors to a housesitter. We have experience maintaining structures and keeping up gardens and larger environmental conservation or restoration projects. We are not afraid of hard work or getting our hands dirty, and both of us are accustomed to carrying heavy loads of responsibility and accountability. As an artist, a creative writer, Michael will be working on his latest fiction novel, and Emilie will be working on her post-doctorate book on climate change adaptation, deep ecology, and ecosystems-based resilience. We both have a great fondness for four-legged, two-legged (and no legged for that matter!) creatures, and connect well with and understand other animals. We enjoy meeting new people and exchanging stories, learning from others and sharing a bit of our path.

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Moldova, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, North East Asia, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 31 March 2022
Until: 1 September 2023

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services


MindMyHouse member since 2013

Personal details

Age: 36-45 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 2


Reliable friendly house sitters

Emilie and Michael were the first sitters we used from Mind my House. Thanks to the way they looked after our animals and our house we have used the site many times since. From our original communication to them finishing the assignment they proved friendly and reliable. Our animals and house were well looked after and left us asking Emilie and Michael to return. We highly recommend them.

Sue, United Kingdom, 17 August, 2018

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly


You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 31 March 2022