Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Experienced, Retired Professional Couple for Short or Long Term House and Pet Sitting

United States

Testimonials

They have 2 testimonials (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Guinea pig(s), Rodent(s), Goat(s), Reptile(s), Farm animal(s) – Large and small dogs: collies, labs, mini poodles, Maltese, Jack Russells, mixed breeds; All sorts of cats- Siamese cats, tabbies, Maine Coon, Persian mix, moggies; and lots oof others - parakeets; fish; horses; donkeys; goats, and chickens.

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 26 November 2023
Until: 31 December 2025

Occupation

Visual Artist / Photographer

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

We are an active, retired, non-smoking couple with the experience and skills to provide excellent security and TLC for your home, garden, and pets.

I (Judith) am a visual artist, decorator, and avid gardener. I taught art at a major university in the US for several years. Sanford (Sandy) started and managed a consulting firm for 20 years before retiring. He is a very talented photographer. Our hobbies include travel, walking, reading, cinema, and ceramics. We do volunteer work for an animal welfare organization in our spare time.

We consider assignments of any length.

Why they want to house sit

We enjoy traveling and experiencing other cultures. Our children have left the nest and do not live nearby and we have no responsibilities that tie us to a specific location.

Caring for pets and homes combines our love of animals and travel as well as our desire to experience other cultures. It is different than traveling as a tourist, in large part because of the responsibility involved, We find this responsibility gives us a sense of purpose: it is a commitment to care for property, ensure security, and provide peace of mind to the people whose homes and pets we care for.

Their experience

We are very experienced and have been house and petsitting since 2013. During that time we've completed about 50 assignments; We're often invited back for repeat housesits.

We've cared for homes of all types, among them a 14th C converted convent with a pool near Lyon; a Grade II listed home in the East midlands, and a chateau with guesthouse and two pools in Brittany, We've cared for a Rectory in Bristol, a lovely country cottage outside of Cambridge, a rural farmhouse in Mayenne, a penthouse apartment in Valencia, a council flat in Glastonbury, and an off-grid cabin in the Sierra Madres.

We've owned seven homes (including rental properties) and know how to use a house gently and keep it spotless and tidy. We've successfully completed home DIY projects including total renovation of three kitchens and two bathrooms as well a host of smaller projects. Household emergencies don't rattle us, and we know when to call for help.

We're love working with animals of all kinds. We've raised six dogs and four cats of our own, and cared for animals of many shapes and sizes including birds and fish. Our petsitting experience
includes dogs, cats, goats, donkeys, horses, and hamsters.  We've cared for several special-needs animals (e.g., blind, deaf, diabetic) and always consider it a privilege.

What can they bring to the assignment

We have common sense, significant life experience, and we're flexible. We're good at solving problems, and we have excellent references.

We honor our commitments and care for homes, pets, and property as if they were our own. We come with a positive attitude, a strong work ethic, and curiosity about the world. We're also pleasant, easygoing, and funny (I think).

Available to house sit

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Monaco, Norway, Romania, Spain, Switzerland, United States

Availability dates

From: 26 November 2023
Until: 31 December 2025

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2013

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 2

Testimonials

Wonderful and caring home sitters.

Judy and Sandy made our lives so easy when they came to mind our home and our dog. We met them the day before we left for our trip and it was such a pleasure to meet this charming and very special couple. They made us feel completely confident that our home and our dog would be very well cared for, and our confidence was totally justified. We received regular updates, photos and short videos about our dog and it was very reassuring to see him so happy with Sandy and Judy. They very kindly brought him dog treats when they arrived, and our dog was very sorry to see them leave! Our home was immaculately clean when we arrived home after our trip and there was plenty of provisions left for us in the fridge, which was very welcome. We thoroughly recommend Sandy and Judy as very reliable and caring house sitters, and we hope that we will see them again in our home very soon. Thank you Judy and Sandy!

Jennifer, United States, 29 October, 2023

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

Thanks so much

Judy and Sandy looked after our house so well, and they cared for our dog beautifully. Cannot reccommend them high enough.

nick, United Kingdom, 23 September, 2019

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 26 November 2023