Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Reliable long time petsitter needs a pet fix

Canada

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Bird(s), Guinea pig(s), Rodent(s)

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 7 April 2023
Until: 16 June 2024
(see their busy times below)

Occupation

Retired

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

I am a retired non-smoking 70 year old single woman living on the prairies of Canada who loves to explore new places. I am a fully vaccinated very experienced traveler after 40 plus years of roaming the world and now, after 45 years of work behind me I have the freedom to go when I want to and where I want to! I am very trustworthy and reliable. Some of my hobbies are reading, listening to music (I am a Beatles/Paul McCartney fanatic), watching movies, live theatre and walking. I would love to look after every type of pet except snakes - sorry, I am terrified of snakes. I am absolutely bonkers over dogs - I call myself "the dog stalker" as I just can't pass a dog without stopping to say hello. I had my own dog Sandy, a retriever cross for 11 years and still miss her many years later. I got into house and petsitting 6 weeks after she died when my mgr at work asked me to look after their dog. (they were clients for 16 years until their second dog passed) I have lots of experience looking after cats as well and having had budgies, cockatiels, guinea pigs and hamsters as pets I am familiar with their "lifestyle". I live a quiet life and enjoy time with friends yet love time on my own as well. Even better with a (canine or feline) companion!

Why they want to house sit

House sitting gives me the opportunity to explore new areas of the world as a "local". I also love pets but given my current lifestyle of traveling whenever I can, a pet is just not convenient so I get to be a temporary dog or cat "auntie". As a former dog owner I know how difficult it can be to get someone you trust to look after your much loved family member. For 2023 I am interested in petsitting somewhere in Britain over both Easter 2023 and Christmas 2023. I am a huge Anglophile and have been to Britain about 30 times sometimes for months at a time. Summer 2023 I want to stay at home in Canada with the odd dogsit here and there.

Their experience

I have seventeen years of house and live in pet sitting experience which includes dogs, cats and a guinea pig. Besides my rescue dog Sandy who shared my life for nearly 11 years some of my pets included a guinea pig named Jennifer (I love rodents!), cockatiels (Clancey, Jambo, Lucky & Budetta - but not all at the same time!) and a golden-mantled rosella named Joey. That doesn't include the turtle, frog and numerous hamsters I had during my childhood. No snakes though or I will run shrieking from your house. Other than many local pet sits here in Regina, Saskatchewan I have looked after pets and house sat in London, England as well as Chicago, Illinois and Vancouver, British Columbia.

What can they bring to the assignment

I will love your pets like my own as well as keep your home neat and tidy. I do have my drivers license so can take your pet to the vet if needed although not sure about driving in the UK on the other side of the road!. I can provide excellent references upon request and also provide a police check. If your dog loves walks I am your woman as I love to go for walks and usually take my doggie friends for at least two walks a day unless the weather is absolutely dire and we come to a mutual agreement that we will just snuggle together on the sofa and netflix and chill.

Available to house sit

Canada, Germany, Ireland, United Kingdom, United States

Availability dates

From: 7 April 2023
Until: 16 June 2024

They have indicated that they are busy at the following times:
14 February 2023 to 6 April 2023

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2013

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 16 December 2022