Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

I am passionate about traveling to new places hiking in National parks and learning all about ethnic cultures

Canada

Testimonials

They have 3 testimonial s (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Tortoise/Turtle(s), Rodent(s), Goat(s) – Cared for many wonderful pest birds’ fish rabbit’s chickens and a goat over the last 10 year and so enjoyed the variety. Some of the dogs and cats were very old and fragile needing meds and some had often accidents in the house. Some insisted on sleeping

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 2 March 2022
Until: 14 May 2024

Occupation

Retired

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

Hello!

I'm a healthy, strong, and responsible single 68 year old woman. I am energetic and young at heart. I love animals and I've owned two houses, though not recently. Your home is special and unique. It is important that it is cared for in the way you want it to be...your things, your routines, your pets, your plants. I don't smoke or drink. I am reliable and I love animals. I am tidy and enjoy new places and people.

My first house-sit was a 3 month assignment in the remote of Brazil in the Highlands one of the poorest area in Brazil. My responsibility was running a Sitio (Homestead) There were 6 dogs, 10 cats and 3 parrots. I cared for and loved as well as the property.
I know how to maintain a swimming pool and love taking care of plants and a garden.
I am not opposed to living in a remote area and have no preference of cities suburbs or a little village.

I speak French, German and English. I am very familiar with Europe. I am from the country of Luxembourg and still possess the Luxembourg Nationality. However, I have been living in Canada for the last 30 years.

I am willing and open to housesit in most any country. I want to learn and experience what the country and people have to offer.

I am a nomad at heart and can survive in most situations.
I am not opposed to any other pets/ animal you may have to be loved and carried for.
I am retired from a 25 year position with the Government here in Canada.


References are available upon request.


I would like to add of what I have been doing over the last 12 years I have house- sat for many people. I been invited and have gone back to house-sit again for the same people. Some of the houses were luxurious some in the remote and serene which I love. The house sittings have been all over Canada a the States, central America and Europe I have a car and have driven to many of the house-sit's.

I have done volunteer work on 7 different organic farms here in Canada learning all about farming and farm animals.

I was in Uganda, Africa for 7 weeks in 2011 to do volunteer in a village in the rainforest a most rewarding life experience.


I look forward hearing from you.

Cheers,
Marie

Why they want to house sit

I prefer house-sit's that are at least 4 weeks so to bond with your pets, so they have a good experience. I always had dogs and cats when my children were still home. Pets a drawn to me often making it hard to leave them behind when leaving a house-sit. Dogs become true companions and want so little in return.

Their experience

I have house-sat for 40 different homes and many great and loving pets over the last 12 year some places I have I been back to care for the pets and property more than once.

I have house-sat in: Brazil - Quebec, Canada - Ontario, Canada - Vancouver and Victoria island BC Canada – Alberta, Canada - Manitoba, Canada - Maryland US. - California US. - Costa Rica – Ecuador – Belgium - England – Portugal – Arizona US. – Vermont US. - New Hampshire US. - Florida US. - Blue Ridge mountains West Virginia US. – Main US.

What can they bring to the assignment

Giving the best loving care I can to your animals follow there routines treat them with respect and love them like they were my own.
Communicate with you on a regular basis to assure you that your pets are fine, and your property is in order. Leave your place tidy.

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Moldova, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, North East Asia, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 2 March 2022
Until: 14 May 2024

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2013

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 3

Testimonials

Extraordinary house sitter

Marie es una persona educada, ordenada y cariñosa. Nuestro gato Willy ha estado en las mejores manos. Durante 3 semanas Marie ha estado muy pendiente de nuestra mascota. Willy es un gato desconfiado, pero con Marie se ha encontrado muy cómodo y acompañado, es una cuidadora extraordinaria, muy cariñosa y tranquila, que sabe actuar ante cualquier problema , sin duda la dejaría de nuevo a cargo de nuestra casa y nuestro gato Willy con toda confianza. Es una persona muy ordenada y nuestra casa estaba tal y como la dejamos, limpia y ordenada.

Leonor, Spain, 07 May, 2022

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly

Great Experience

I recently was away for a month on a course and had Marie come to look after my house and my three cats. I am thouroughly satisfied with the service she provided. She was willing to arrive a day before I left so I could give her instructions in person and get to know her a little. She was very easy to get along with and picked everything up with ease. During my time away she provided me with updates and pictures of my animals to set my mind at ease. And upon my return home, the place was immaculate. I have absolutely no issues recommending Marie to anyone else needing a house and pet sitter. My cats are also senior, one being handicapped and she took the challenges in stride withough issues. One having often accidents that need cleaning up. If you're looking for a responsible, trustworthy house/pet sitter you need not look any further. Marie is the one you need!

Juanita, Canada, 14 October, 2020

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden

Excellent house sitting!

We can definitely recommend Marie to look after your home! She is very friendly, energetic, and organised. For our whole vacation we were comfortable knowing that our house and our cat were very well looked after. We came home to an impeccable house, and our cat was also very calm and relaxed. The only slight room for improvement is it could have been easier to keep in touch (be able to call/whatsapp, instead we kept in contact with email) but this is understandable when travelling internationally. Otherwise everything was perfect!

Chris & Tris, Belgium, 29 November, 2017

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Friendly
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 20 April 2022