Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Travellers - Experienced house sitters seeking different lifestyle experience

New Zealand

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Farm animal(s) – cats, hens, dogs (bichon, poodles, alsatians, bullmastiffs, dobermans, labradors, cattle dogs, Jack Russells, Australian Sheep dog) to cattle and fish.

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 13 November 2019
Until: 2 November 2022

Occupation

Retired teachers

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

After both being in the teaching profession for 30 years we decided to retire early and
establish our own accommodation business alongside 90 Mile Beach in the Far
North of NZ. In 2010, we accepted an offer to purchase this business which then left us with the flexibility to pursue other directions and interests. As a complete change in lifestyle, we have moved into house caring and have purchased an American 5th wheeler/trailer rig for accommodation between housesits.


We are flexible on location within NZ and overseas.

Re Character Checks : If required, we are able to provide phone numbers or email addresses for you to have direct contact with our previous house sits. Also as registered teachers we had 3 yearly police checks to enable us to teach.

Why they want to house sit

We love animals and having owned both cats and dogs this lifestyle allows us to have our "animal fix " as well as exploring new places.

Their experience

Over the last nine years we have undertaken 89 home cares both within NZ and overseas. Our commitments have ranged from 5 days to 3 months totalling 230 weeks of housesitting, 28 of these in different homes, with 55 return stays. Our NZ housesits have been between The Bay of Plenty and the Far North. Our overseas house caring assignments have been in Australia (Newcastle 2 weeks with cats & dogs, Melbourne 4 weeks with dogs, Brisbane x2 with cat, birds & goldfish) Coolum, Queensland x 1 dog. The United States ( Colorado 3 weeks with dogs cats and chickens, Florida 8 weeks and return 6 weeks with 5 dogs) Singapore (3 weeks with 2 cats) and Hong Kong (6 weeks with a cat & dog ) In 2016 we returned to a previous housesit in Florida. During 2017 we travelled to Nova Scotia to do 2 different housesits and then to Melbourne for our last housesit of the year. In 2018 we spent 3 months in Brisbane and have return in 2019 after doing a 2 week sit in Japan.

Hopefully the number of return stays we have had indicates that we are reliable and have a commitment to providing responsible care.

We are non smokers and enjoy the company of pets. As well as having our own for many years, since house sitting, it has been our pleasure to look after a range of animals/pets from cats, dogs (bichon, shih tzu poodles, alsatians, bullmastiffs,
dobermans, labradors, cattle dogs, Jack Russells, Australian Sheep dog) to cattle and fish.

As property owners we have experience in maintaining and developing grounds as well as operating swimming pools.

Having our 5th wheeler enables us to travel or move around NZ at relatively short notice as well as arrive a day or so early to familiarize ourselves with our responsibilities.

What can they bring to the assignment

A commitment to the care of your animals, home and property. We believe that animals are happier in their own environment with their routines being kept.

Available to house sit

Australia, Belgium, Canada, Caribbean, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Ecuador, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Singapore, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Availability dates

From: 13 November 2019
Until: 2 November 2022

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2013

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 5 February 2020