Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Experienced Caretakers from Alaska Looking to Travel and Be Useful

United States

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s), Guinea pig(s), Rodent(s), Pig(s), Goat(s), Reptile(s), Farm animal(s) – We've cared for large and small animals with special needs, aggressive and shy, elderly, and ill.

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 9 March 2021
Until: 9 June 2026

Occupation

Carpenter, Writer, Pet Sitter

References

They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

Our sitting career began with ten years of winter caretaking for remote lodges in Alaska. We lived without running water, electricity, and neighbors, and were responsible for snow removal, wood gathering, general property maintenance and security, and our own safety and well-being. One year, we even had a cat.

These days, we continue remote lodge sitting in the spring and fall but do more house and pet sitting for families, both in their homes and in ours. We've tended dogs, cats, birds (including chickens), rabbits, frogs, fish, and worms. We've administered medicines (including asthma meds via cat inhaler), dressed wounds, provided tube feedings, removed stitches, and catered to special diets and needs. Jen is exceptionally attentive and has a soft spot for old, ill, and difficult animals, from aggressive to shy.

Why they want to house sit

We enjoy traveling and experiencing new places, and we enjoy being useful and helping others. We are an aunt and an uncle, babysitters, house sitters, pet sitters.

Leaving your house and your pets can be stressful for both you and your pets. We want to put you all at ease by being kind, open, and dependable.

Their experience

We have years of experience and can provide as many references as you require, from lodge owners and employers to old friends and neighbors to new friends discovered here at Mind My House.

What can they bring to the assignment

We're quiet, tidy, conscientious people, non-smokers, non-drinkers, healthy, and fit. Mike is a carpenter with experience building houses, lodges, cabins, furniture, and more. Jen is a gardener, growing much of the produce we eat throughout the year. We have basic maintenance and repair skills. We built our own house: Mike learned to plumb, and Jen learned to wire for electricity. We are very self-sufficient.

We're content with a wide variety of locations and conditions. We've lived in remote places and in challenging weather conditions. We spent a winter 60 miles north of the Arctic Circle, where temperatures dipped below -50 degrees Fahrenheit and the sun didn't rise for seven weeks.

No job is too big or too small; no place too urban or remote.

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Moldova, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, North East Asia, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Venezuela, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 9 March 2021
Until: 9 June 2026

Do they charge?

They sometimes charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2013

Personal details

Age: 46-55 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1

Testimonials

Strong Recommend

As a first time home owner on mindmyhouse.com, I was extremely happy with Mike and Jen Weber. For the five weeks I was gone, they took excellent care of my home and dog and communicated with me on a regular basis. I cannot thank them enough for their efforts.

Phil, Central South America, 03 January, 2020

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 11 August 2022