Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Experienced professionals

United States

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Pets: dogs, cats, birds (chickens, ducks, peacocks, and a variety of wild birds), horses, donkeys, cows, camels, reptiles, bees (many hives) etc.

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 15 September 2024
Until: 31 December 2027

Occupation

Retired University Professor, now academic editor/writer

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

We are two professions who between us have many years' experience traveling and house-sitting. Charles was a full-time instructor at the University of Colorado for many years, and now teaches online courses for them each semester. His poetry appears in literary journals in the US, the UK, and Australia. Sean is a full-time freelance education writer and editor for children and teens, on contract with major US publishers. He has authored more than 50 books and several hundred articles over the past 25 years.

[We have many references and reviews available].

Why they want to house sit

We are “digital nomads” – professionals who carry on our careers online while moving and living abroad. We love this life! Over many years of travel on six continents and 66 countries, we have found that living in others' homes and caring for their pets (and sometimes livestock), is a profound privilege; it is a trust that broadens and deepens our experience not only of that place and time (and those adorable companion animals), but of our own lives.

Their experience

Experienced as house-sitters:

Full-time year-round house-sitters since 2013, we have house-sat and pet-sat nearly 50 lovely homes and estates in Europe, the British Isles, Latin America, the Caribbean, North America, and the Middle East. We are at home in a variety of cultures, having traveled in 66 countries on 6 continents.

What can they bring to the assignment

• We are confident, well-educated, and experienced managers.
• We are aesthetes, appreciating and caring for others' belongings.
• We love animals and they love us.
• We are educated, open-minded, creative, easy-going, warm, and diligent.
• We are excellent communicators.
• Enthusiastic, with a shared rollicking sense of humor, we work well together and independently.
• Both of us are native (American) English speakers; Charles is proficient in Spanish, German, and okay in French, ... can read Italian -- and in a pinch we can mumble along in Russian. Sean majored in Russian language and literature, and can survive in Spanish.
• We support ourselves financially by our online work.
• We have US driver's licenses with spotless driving records. We do not have a car with us in our travels.
• Non-smokers

Last updated: 28 June 2024

Available to house sit

United States

Availability dates

From: 15 September 2024
Until: 31 December 2027

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2014

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 4

Testimonials

Wonderful House sitters

Charles and Sean looked after our African Grey Parrot and our house for almost 3 months. They were wonderful, neat and meticulous. Most of all, they looked after our parrot exceptionally well and kept us updated regularly on his health and all that he was up to. We are very grateful to them for looking after our pet. The house was looked after very well also, and we were able to be away for that long without any worries. We would definitely get them to sit for us again, and would highly recommend them for a long term sit.

Shreekesh, Canada, 06 April, 2022

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

About this house sitter

MindMyHouse member since March 2014