Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Caring Retired Naval Captain and Retired Teacher/I.T Consultant will look after your pets and your home as if they were our own!

Cyprus

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish – We have also looked after sick pets, (with cancer and other ailments) and non/partially-sighted dogs, administering tablets, eye drops diagnosing issues, including tumors, attending the vet and giving a lot of TLC (tender loving care

Police check

They don't have a police check

Availability

From: 9 November 2022
Until: 31 December 2025

Occupation

I.T. Consultant/Teacher (retired)

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

I am Trish & my partner is Mike. Mike is a Naval Captain and I am a retired Information Technology (I.T.) Consultant/Teacher now student of Greek and Spanish. We are both non-smokers, professional and caring.

Mike enjoys house-sitting when he is not on a contract and due to Covid he is not working now and hasn't for some time and possiblywon't again.

Mike is reliable, resourceful, independent and capable of working under pressure with the ability to assess a situation swiftly and act appropriately.

I was a teacher of English as a foreign language, and taught for 8 years in Spain (where I learnt Spanish) and the Canary Islands, then 5 years in Egypt, and about 5 years in Cyprus. I speak Spanish having lived in Spain for 8 years. I can also get by in Italian as it has similarities with Spanish. I am currently studying Greek.

My other career position was Information Technology (I.T) where I worked in the U.K, Holland and the U.S.

We are both used to the challenges of living in other countries of which we enjoy ‘embracing’. It is so interesting to make new friends, sample and cook local food, and live like a local for a while. We can also ‘go with the flow’!

We are also homeowners, although at present rent a condo in Penang Malaysia where we spend some time.(Although we spend summers in Europe, and at our place in Pafos, Cyprus, and sometimes spend time in Mexico, South and Central America). We are used to ensuring that all our properties (rented or owned) are maintained well; including maintaining our swimming pool, some gardening, carrying out repairs ourselves or for larger issues finding a local technician or professional.

We are both very orderly, tidy and enjoy keeping the house clean ensuring that all issues are addressed in a timely fashion.

In our spare time, we enjoy the outdoors, walking, cycling, swimming, enjoying the local flora and fauna, keeping fit. I particularly enjoy going to the gym, while Mike enjoys riding his motor cycles.

We both also attend a gym, and enjoy some weight training, spinning, yoga, aerial/swing yoga, and body pump. This keeps us fit and our energy levels high!

We enjoy looking after pets, plants, gardens and homes as if they were our own!

Responsible, quiet, clean and non smokers, we are familiar with basic repair and gardening. House sitting gives us the opportunity to see new places as if we were locals. So looking after the house, pets or garden is definitely a fair-exchange!

Now having more time for travel we would like to discover & explore new places..... and look after you home and pets as if they were our own, whilst providing feedback by whichever media you prefer.

Why they want to house sit

We prefer to avoid hotels but instead live within local communities. This enables us get to know the local community, experience the local lifestyle and food, make new friends, have a wonderful time and importantly give something back whilst ensuring that your mind is at rest knowing that your home/pets are loved and cared for as if they were our own.

Their experience

I/We have house sat in:

U.K., Holland, Ireland, Spain, Greece, Egypt, Vietnam, Australia, Mexico, Panama, Ecuador, Colombia, Aruba, Bali, Cyprus

Holland for a month ensuring the house was clean, tidy and secure, watering the garden and the flowers.

Egypt - Cairo for 2 weeks, ensuring the apartment was secure, watering the plants, keeping the house clean and tidy.

Spain - Vigo, different periods over a few years. I ensured that the apartment, was secure, kept clean and the plants watered. South of Spain looking after 2 rescue dogs, and 2 cats.

Ireland - Kerry, on a small holding looking after, 3 Jack-Russells and 3 hens.

U.K. - Great Yarmouth ensuring the security of the bungalow, watering the garden and flowers, keeping the bungalow clean and tidy.London, looking after a cat.

Australia - Adelaide - looking after a cat named Sita with many balcony house plants. The temperatures soared to 46 degrees centigrade creating a challenge keeping the plants hydrated but this was accomplished successfully. The apartment was kept clean and tidy and left in very good order. Sydney – looking after 2 cocker spaniels, Hunter and Becky, keeping the house and grounds clean and tidy, managing the post and parcels. Brisbane - looking after 3 dogs. Melbourne, looking after a dog and cat.

Vietnam - looking after a cat and dog.

Mexico - In Merida looking after a cat, swimming pool and tropical garden. In Michoacán, looking after a dog.

Panama – looking after 7 dogs

Ecuador - looking after 3 cats

Colombia - looking after a cat, and 2 dogs, one of the them non-sighted

Aruba - looking after 6 cats and 3 dogs

Bali - looking after 6 cats and 3 kittens

Cypus, Moroni and Protaras looking after dogs and cats

What can they bring to the assignment

We are experienced house sitters, who understand what it feels like to be away from home perhaps concerned about security and the well being of pets, plants flowers and your home. We are happy to update you as and when required on Skype/WhatsApp/WeChat/Facebook with test, voice, photos and videos., or email if you wish.

Available to house sit

Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cyprus, Ecuador, Greece, Mexico, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Peru

Availability dates

From: 9 November 2022
Until: 31 December 2025

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2014

Personal details

Age: 66-75 years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1

Testimonials

Fabulous

Mike and Trish are great, looked after our 12 cats, kept house and garden, and helped with other commitments. Would highly recommend, they go above and beyond totally trustworthy and reliable. :)

Debra, Cyprus, 10 June, 2022

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 9 November 2022