Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Happy experienced house-sitting Zen couple looking to explore this big world while taking care of your animals and propert. Non-smokers

About this sitter

We are a couple of writers, professional massage therapists, artists and teachers in our mid 50's. We closed our business for a life of travel and adventure.

We are resourceful, reliable, ethical and trustworthy non-smoking animal lovers who have run our own business since 1991. Monique is originally from England and Blane grew up in rural Vermont with a number of large dogs and other pets. He grew up surrounded by wildlife chopping wood. We both love reading, traveling, meditation, new environments, new people and communing with nature and animals of all kinds.

After a 6-month house-sit in the U.S. and now a 3 month house-sit in Karamea, New Zealand we're looking for more house-sits in New Zealand for any part of the remainder of our time there and then Fiji, the Cook Islands and Australia.

Why they want to house sit

We prefer house sitting because it provides a home environment giving us a local experience rather than the usual purely tourist one, giving us the opportunity to experience the world with new eyes. The world is full of adventure, new places, people, lifestyles and cultures - we’ve travelled to China, Mongolia, Europe and Central America and we have the bug to be global citizens.

Their experience

We recently finished a 6-month house-sit in the U.S. in a meditative retreat center where we took care of airbnb bookings and guests. We were in email contact with the owners and sent them photos and updates periodically. We are now doing a 3-month house-sit in Karamea on the south island of New Zealand. Blane has taken care of 300 year old properties, with all of the challenges that such places invariably have and Monique has some small farm animal care experience. We have had dogs, cats, fish and reptiles as pets, including Jilly, our diabetic cat who needed 2 shots of insulin a day. Our lovely and beloved cat died at age 19.

What can they bring to the assignment

We have experience, love what we do and take pride in doing it well. We've left both our business and our cat (since passed) in other peoples hands and know how important this seemingly simple thing is - and we know what it's like to be terribly disappointed. We wouldn't want anyone else to have those experiences and are dedicated to giving you peace of mind while you leave what's important to you in our hands.

We're caring, competent, responsible and overall good, nice people. We genuinely enjoy each others company and work (and play) well together as well as with others.

We are happy to stay in touch with homeowners and equally happy if you just want to forget about everything and just relax and know that your home and or pets are in good hands.

Availability

Countries:

Burma, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Vietnam

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet (from registered MindMyHouse home owners).

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Discover an adventure today - Register now.

Top