Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Cat/Rabbit/Dwelling Sitter Available (For a Place with few Stairs)

United States

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Cat(s), Rabbit(s)

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 30 October 2020
Until: 30 January 2022

Occupation

Teacher

References

They don't have referees/references

About this sitter

(Note: I'm available during the holidays in November and December.)

Hi, I'm Nancy Buswell, age 60. I have lived in Mexico, Austria, and China and have now settled back home in the U.S. I live with my elderly mother, who does not need my help, but enjoys the company. In Mexico I taught music at a bilingual school, in Austria I worked like a secretary for a church-related organization, and in China I taught English to university students for 19 years! I've been back in the U.S. for two years, working online. I teach English to adults who want to study abroad or immigrate, and I am learning different ways of doing e-commerce. There are two things I am looking for in a house sit: 1) No stairs, or very few stairs. I am very heavy and have a sore knee, so I have trouble climbing stairs. 2) A workspace with some natural light for my online English classes.

Why they want to house sit

I first learned about housesitting from a New York Times newspaper article about five years ago. The article gave this website as well as another one or two. I liked this website, so I signed up and have been a member off and on since then. I have never housesat because it's never worked out time-wise and money-wise, but I always enjoy reading the daily emails with the housesitting assignments. Now that I am based in the U.S. I would like to house sit so that I can see other areas of the country. And if you have cats or rabbits, so much the better!

Their experience

I don't have experience on this website yet. I have housesat in the past, but it was long ago. When I taught in Mexico, a friend and I stayed in a retired American couple's house for three weeks while they went home for the birth of a grandbaby. And when I worked in Vienna, Austria, I lived in my boss's house and took care of his little dog while he and his wife went home for the Christmas and New Year's holidays. These were both more than 25 years ago, so a reference from them is unlikely and not that useful for you. On the other hand, I have hosted a lot of people in my apartments in China. I am a member of couchsurfing.org and warmshowers.org, which are both organizations for people who want to host travelers. Warmshowers.org is especially for those on cycling trips. I don't think you can go to the websites to see the references that have been left for me, but I could copy and paste them to a document and email it to you. I haven't kept count, but I bet I've hosted more than a hundred people from all over the world! I know very well what it's like to have strangers stay in my house.

This doesn't count as housesitting experience, but I have taken care of my neighbor's cat twice while he went on vacation. The cat stayed with me, sat on my lap, and slept on my bed. I liked it!

What can they bring to the assignment

I love rabbits and cats!

I don't smoke or drink or like parties. Wherever I am, I'll look for a Church of Christ, and attend it Sunday mornings, assuming they are following social distancing rules.

I will have my own transportation.

Because I have lived outside the U.S. for most of my career, I have never owned my own home. I rented an apartment or was provided one by my school or university. Thus, I don't know how to do common household repairs. I don't have experience with a garden, so can only do simple things for you outside.

I have good common sense and I know to ask for help if I need it.

Available to house sit

United States

Availability dates

From: 30 October 2020
Until: 30 January 2022

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2015

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 0

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 30 October 2020