Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Retired police officer would love to take care of your pets and home

Canada

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Guinea pig(s), Farm animal(s), Other animal(s) – Yes, I have rescued and fostered many dogs. During recent housesits I have cared for a number of dogs. I have also cared for a cat in my own home during the owner's transfer.

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 1 November 2024
Until: 2 November 2024
(see their busy times below)

Occupation

Retired police officer

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

I am a retired police officer(6 years now), having completed a 20 year career as a member of the RCMP (Royal Canadian Mounted Police.) I am reliable and trustworthy and have a clean criminal record. I have a clean work record with no problems and an excellent driving record. I am open to traveling anywhere my services are required. I am respectful of the home I care for and keep it very clean and well cared for. I love all animals and ensure they are as happy and comfortable as possible. I am a non-smoker and non-drinker.
I grew up on a farm and was involved in the care and feeding for farm animals, including horses. Besides having owned my own dogs, I rescued many dogs and puppies (68!), and fostered many of them until I was able to get them to an agency. I also volunteered at the SPCA in Yellowknife as a dog walker.
I am a photographer and writer and there isn't much I love more than taking long walks with dogs, and taking may photos along the way. One day I hope to write a book, so having a stay that is a bit longer would be a great opportunity to work on that.

Why they want to house sit

I have been housesitting full-time now for over six years and it has proven to be an excellent experience. I have completed numerous house and pet sits and have received great feedback. My plan for retirement always was to slow travel and see and experience new places and cultures. Along with having a comfortable home to take care of, there’s the added joy of perhaps having a dog or two (or other animal) to look after. I miss having a dog of my own but taking care of someone else’s pet is a great if somewhat temporary substitute.
While I am eager to see many new places, it's not about being a tourist. I love having a safe place to stay, relax and read, walk, garden, and work on my writing and photography. I am open to traveling anywhere my services are needed.

Their experience

Yes, I have completed numerous pet and housesits and have received excellent references and reviews. I have looked after a variety of animals: chicken, horses, ducks, but mainly dogs and cats. Many have involved more than one dog and we all enjoyed going for numerous hikes and spending time outdoors. I have cared for three horses, two of which required daily medication. Several other pets I looked also required regular medication and I respect the necessity of strictly following that regime.

What can they bring to the assignment

I am an absolute animal lover and love spending time with animals.
As a retired police officer, I am highly aware of safety and security, and will ensure a house is secure while I am there. I am a non-smoker and non-drinker.
I know from experience how it can be difficult to leave your animal, and home, in the hands of another person. It’s very important to have someone dependable taking care of everything. Homeowners are able to enjoy their holiday knowing their pets and home will be well taken care of.
I owned and renovated two homes during my working career, so I am familiar with home care and maintenance. I can do basic repairs and projects. My homes involved house and yard maintenance as well as care for flowers and gardens. I have a clean work record, as well as an excellent driving record, with no collisions.

****A few reference letters (more in the next section)
Taryn - Houston, TX, United States
31 August 2016
Monica took care of our house and two precious cocker spaniels for 4 months this past spring, and we were so pleased to have her. Not only did she leave the house in impeccable order, she also managed plumbing, air conditioning and other maintenance issues that came up in our absence, including finding reliable service companies and supervising them through the process. Moreover, Monica accurately diagnosed a grain-intolerance in one of our dogs and promptly modified the dogs' diet accordingly. We came home to two very healthy and happy dogs.
As a former Canadian police officer, we were entirely comfortable with having Monica in our home. She handles herself with confidence, intelligence and kindness, and we would love to have her homestay for us again in future.

***********
Marina
11 September 2016
Monica has done an OUTSTANDING job looking after our home and our 2 active dogs! We were away for our wedding and It was so relieving to know that our pups were in good hands- one thing I didn't need to worry about that week!
She kept in great contact with updates and photos, the dogs were happy, clean and sleepy when we arrived home :)
Our house was left in a better state than we left it for her, organized and cleaned.
Monica is the most reliable and trustworthy house/pet sitter you could ever ask for!

**********
Dianne
17 August 2015
To say Monica is a great house sitter, is an understatement!

In the past, when we've travelled, we've taken our pups to the kennel, even if we've had a house sitter take car of our place. We've never trusted anyone to take care of and love our pups the way we do, until we met Monica.

We received many pics of our pups, and updates while on our trip, which put us both at ease. Upon our return, we arrived to a home more tidy than when we left, and very happy pups.

We quickly booked Monica 2 more times, as people like her are very hard to come by and book up quickly. I recommend Monica to anyone out there, especially those hesitant to leave their animals behind, as her love for animals is obvious.

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Caribbean, Central South America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Middle East, Moldova, Monaco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, North East Asia, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South East Asia, South Korea, South Pacific, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vietnam

Availability dates

From: 1 November 2024
Until: 2 November 2024

They have indicated that they are busy at the following times:
1 May 2023 to 1 May 2024

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2015

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 1

Testimonials

Amazing!

Monica took care of our home for over 3 months during the worst winter in Calgary in years and we never heard a peep. What Monica did was not house sitting, it was as if she did not want to disturb a thing and ensured everything was better than we left it. It was like my mother staying in our home, everything was clean, neat and as tidy as a pin. Monica called and asked if she could re-pot some plants and sure enough our plants have been given a new life. We arrived home to flowers on the table. It would be a mistake to not pick Monica for your next house sitting assignment. Thanks Monica!

Don, Canada, 01 April, 2017

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 5 June 2023