Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Retired Aussie couple looking for Europe, Pacific, or USA stays

Australia

Testimonials

They have 1 testimonial (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s) – We don't have any pets at the moment, as we like to travel, but both of us have been brought up with animals as pets, and we have completed three sits in England, Ireland and Australia to date (Jan 2017).

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 15 December 2022
Until: 24 January 2023

Occupation

Retired

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

Retired teacher (Veronica) and science lab officer (Michael), are looking for stays for periods between 3 and 8 weeks or more.
We love to travel, and are willing to stay at your place and look after it and your animal as if they were our own.
I am handy around the house, and Veronica speaks German, if these attributes are any use to you.
We have always had pets, and are willing to exercise and look after yours.

Why they want to house sit

We want to experience life in other countries, as the locals do. Get to know your neighbours and neighbourhood, be able to look around 'different' areas, away from the tourists, and we are at a stage in our lives where we can do that. Both of us have travelled many times but only for 4 to 6 weeks but now we would like to spend more time exploring, but away from typically touristy places.
We are honest, trustworthy Aussies, and we are sure you will be confident that we have your interests at heart. We will treat your place as our own.

Their experience

We like to stay at apartments when we have travelled in the past, rather than hotels, so staying in another person's house will not be so different. As we have recently retired, now is the time to explore. We have a coastal house and garden as well as a townhouse so we know how to look after and maintain properties. We have 3 references as we have completed 2 house sits in England (2 weeks and 8 weeks) and Ireland (2 X 10 weeks), Fiji (4 weeks) and 5 house sits in Australia (weeks have ranged from 2 weeks to 5 weeks). All these house sits have involved looking after animals, primarily dogs. We have also house swapped with people from Germany, Spain, New Zealand and Australia.

What can they bring to the assignment

Honesty and integrity, capable with maintenance issues if necessary, and a love of animals. We are very tidy people and take pride in looking after our own houses and we will do the same to your home.

Available to house sit

United Kingdom

Availability dates

From: 15 December 2022
Until: 24 January 2023

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2015

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old
Family status: Family with children

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 3

Testimonials

Well recommended!

Michael & Veronica looked after our 2 rescue dogs for 2+ weeks in September, 2018. We live in a quiet area outside the small town of Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji. We could not provide a car but M&V were happy to catch the bus to town whenever they needed provisions. They were exceptional dog-sitters, walking our dogs every day down to the beach and exhausting them! We spent 2 days with M&V after our holiday and could see that our dogs had bonded well with them, and M&V even walked our dogs after we got back. We live in a safe neighborhood but unfortunately,while we were away, 1 neighbor was broken into and another was robbed at knife-point. M&V took it very well, and did not panic. We were sorry to say good-bye to them. They left our property in good condition and our puppies lamented their departure.

Linda, Fiji, 03 October, 2018

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 14 July 2022