Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

We're ready to take care of your home and pets as if they are our own

Canada

Testimonials

They have 2 testimonial s (view below)

Pet experience

Dog(s), Cat(s), Horse/Donkey(s), Chicken(s), Bird(s), Fish, Rabbit(s), Tortoise/Turtle(s) – Yes. Cats and dogs, fish, chickens, and farm livestock - cows and their calves

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 12 April 2021
Until: 31 May 2023

Occupation

Retired educator

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

We have lived in England (until '67), 2 yrs in Australia, 3 mths in NZ, & have resided in Saskatchewan, Canada, since 1967. We own our home that I built in '74, and have 2 sons & 3 grandkids. I'm a retired teacher and Eileen's a retired school secretary. I was also a building contractor for 12 yrs and can do minor repairs to your home if you wish. We've traveled the world, touching all continents in last 9 yrs. I've been to Ethiopia 20 times where we do humanitarian work with poverty stricken kids. We are healthy seniors. We ain't slowing down yet. There's no moss growing under our feet. We prefer hostels to hotels. Went on African camping safaris in '06 & '07. We'd love to live in your home, with or without pets. We took care of a 65-cow dairy herd for 6 weeks in Australia in '73. So sky's the limit! I'm a Rotarian. If you are, you know your home will be in good 4-Way Test hands. And of course, I'll attend Rotary Club meetings. We don't smoke, and drink only wine and beer infrequently. We have NEVER used drugs. Now we want to house-sit and have new experiences. Please take us on?

Why they want to house sit

We prefer to live in a the comfort of home like our own rather than an hotel. Cheaper for a pensioner, more relaxed and can come and go as we please. I love to cook, so prefer home cooking. I'm a photographer and a writer. While living in a home I'll be able to do both... photo processing and writing, and both take time. No sweat while taking your dog(s) for walks in between. House sitting will bring new friendships. We have many friends around the world, some on Facebook, and communicate on a daily basis.

Their experience

We have traveled extensively to more than 50 countries, stepping onto all 7 continents, and can quickly adapt to the local living conditions. I was a building contractor for 12 years so can do minor house repairs, depending how long we're in your home, and can fix electrical and plumbing breakdowns. During our first sit in Spain, I had to solve quite early the problem with a power outage and, later, was able to repair the electrically operated, sliding gate. In Costa Rica, the home was deep into the rain-forest and off grid. We had to be conscious of our living conditions all the time; watch the water and power consumption! Drinking water was double filtered from a nearby mountain stream that also provided the hydro power. I soon became accustomed to checking meters, power loads, battery charging and maintenance. There was a swimming pool on site that required my daily attention and occasional cleaning. In several places, we took care of gardens: cutting grass, weeding, watering (inside and out) and dead-heading flowers.
We've owned pets over the years and know their requirements. We'll look after yours as if they are our own. They'll not miss you! With 2 of our sits we've had to visit a vet. In Spain, on the day we arrived, one of the dogs, a pointer, ate poisoned meat on its walk and we all had to rush to the vet. The owners left 2 days later, so we took care of her. Then later, the other pointer picked up an infection so off to the vet we went again. Both survived. I spoke to M. the other day and all are okay. In Costa Rica, we had to take Cujo to the vet because he had several ailments including a skin infection that required special bathing every 2nd day. We had to administer antibiotics as well as eye drops. So you could say we are well experienced and you can rest assured that we'll take great care of your pet(s) while you are away. Oh yes, daily, in Spain, we were removing ticks from the dogs' fur.
Last winter (2017-18) we completed a 3-month, 5-house sit, holiday in France and England. It was a wonderful vacation because we met many lovely people and their adorable pets, as follows: Ventouse, France (3 weeks, 4 cats); Hastings (2 weeks, 1 dog). Shildon, Co Durham (1 week, 2 dogs, 1 cat, 12 chickens); near Newton Abbott (1 week, 2 dogs) and near Rugby (2 weeks, 2 cats, 2 horses). Travel between each sit was by train.
In Feb to March, 2019 we spent 3 months in Australia and Europe and were lucky to have 3 sits 'down under' and one in Germany. In October, 2019, we were in Thailand for two sits, one with 4 cats and the second with one cat. We saw the year out with a 2-month house/pet sit on the Sunshine Coast near Sechelt, BC, looking after a cute schnauzer.
We have now completed 20 house sits in 3 years and consider ourselves capable of taking on any challenge.

Reference 1:

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN -
From Margaret and Brian Geary re Chris and Eileen Clinton
Chris and Eileen spent February and March 2016 looking after our 3 dogs and 1 cat. They were very well looked after and their individual characters were very well catered for. We came back to happy, well-behaved animals. Puss was very contented too and established her place in the kitchen. They even took the dogs to the vet when needed.
We returned to a tidy, clean house and a neatly weeded, small front garden and a terrace tidier than we left it. Chris and Eileen kept in touch by email and we appreciated the regular photos and updates which they sent. Being in the country up in the hills there were power cuts but they dealt with minor problems very effectively, including plumbing.
We would not hesitate to recommend this thoughtful, resourceful, kind couple and would hope to see them again if they were available. They adapted well to the local community and are now learning Spanish.
If you wish more information please contact me on mags_gear@yahoo.co.uk and I will provide a telephone number.
Margaret and Brian Geary, Costa Blanca, SPAIN.

Reference #2:
To whom it may Concern
Chris and Eileen house sat our 2 cats during March 2016 for 11 days while we were away. They took great care of the cats as well as the house. On our return the house was immaculate and the cats both extremely satisfied with life!
I would highly recommend them both to house sit at any time.
Yours sincerely
Hillary Makepeace,
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
England

What can they bring to the assignment

I promise I won't bring any Canadian winter with us on an assignment. We want to escape from it. We will bring warmth, friendship, and integrity and respect for peoples' property. Photography needs love and care for detail when developing a print, and I promise we will bring the same to your home. Please take a few minutes to check out my website at chrisclinton.ca
We will bring with us a lifetime of experiences from successfully raising a family to maintaining a healthy and fulfilling lifestyle.

Available to house sit

Africa, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Canada, Caribbean, Costa Rica, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Fiji, Finland, France, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mauritius, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Panama, Portugal, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Availability dates

From: 12 April 2021
Until: 31 May 2023

Do they charge?

They don't charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2015

Personal details

Age: 76+ years old
Family status: Couple

Total sits

Total completed house sits: 2

Testimonials

Reference: Chris and Eileen Clinton

Chris and Eileen looked after my four cats over the Christmas and New Year period 2017/2018. They arrived a few days before I left to get to know the pets and took care to ensure that routines were maintained while I was away. I returned to a very clean and tidy house and four contented cats. Chris and Eileen used my car while I was away, drove me to and from the airport and kept in regular touch by email. I would certainly recommend them as caring, thoughtful and practical housesitters who will allow you to leave both home and pets in completely safe hands. Eileen Owens, Charente, France

Eileen, France, 20 January, 2018

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly

Really Fine Housesitters

It was great to have Chris and Eileen as housesitters. They cared for my house so well that I couldn't tell I'd been away! Plus my cat was happy and my gardens well-watered. I highly recommend them.

Terry, Canada, 25 June, 2017

  • Tidy
  • Organised
  • Good at pet care
  • Reliable
  • Kept in contact
  • Friendly
  • Good in the garden
  • Handy around the house

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 7 September 2021