Skip to Content Skip to Sitemap

Sitter available

Nature loving lady!

Canada

Testimonials

They have no testimonials

Pet experience

Pets: Dogs (large or small) cats, horses, chickens, cows, parrots, falcons, fish and turtles

Police check

They have a police check

Availability

From: 1 May 2020
Until: 2 May 2023

Occupation

Retired teacher

References

They have referees/references (view below)

About this sitter

As a newly retired teacher ( four years!), I am looking to travel frequently to expand my photography skills, adventurous spirit, and love of nature and animals. As a farm girl, brought up on the Canadian prairie, I've loved daily interaction with animals, gardens,hiking, biking, horse riding, and spending time with family and friends. My life style has been to live close enough to a large city, but live in nature with quiet, contemplative surroundings.

Why they want to house sit

As much as I enjoy a boutique luxury hotel, I'm more comfortable living in surroundings that have heart, animals, and a place to make healthy meals. Artistically, white stucco with desert vistas appeal. I've studied in New Mexico, lived in Australia, and have travelled overseas six times with my daughters and sister. For the first time in my life, I'm free to expand my adventures for a longer period of time, and explore the essence of new communities!

Their experience

As a mother/teacher/traveler/owner of horses, cows, chickens, dogs, breeder of cats (days gone by!), and a falconer and bird lover, I feel empathy and love for all living critters. As a teacher I have brought compassionate teaching into our school system, and my outlook on life is positive. I have house-sat friend's homes in the Okanagan, here in B.C. I've completed 5 housesitting opportunities. Two were repeats in Sask., Canada, and I also did a month close to Windsor Castle looking after a parrot, chickens and ducks; also looked after 3 dogs and 4 horses in New Mexico, and 2 weeks in Oregon, U.S.A. on the coast. Throughout our travels, it is an important lesson to know that housesitting will be different than being at home in well-known surroundings. My heritage is Scottish/& Irish, so it is an on-going exploration to travel paths of my ancestors from South Africa, New Zealand, Australia and Europe.

What can they bring to the assignment

-Honest, positive and loving attention to your home, garden and animals.
-Flexible
-Interest in many countries/cultures/music/art/yoga/a cappella singing
-Strong, sensitive and practical
-One week-a month assignments in duration**Australia/New Zealand for
-March availability 2018! Portugal/Greece/Italy/Scotland/Ireland in 2018
-Non-smoker/non-drinker/healthy lifestyle/
-Looking for Australia/Ireland/Scotland/Wales/U.S.A. from Sept. 2018

Available to house sit

Australia, Canada, Fiji, Greece, Ireland, Italy, New Zealand, Portugal, United Kingdom, United States

Availability dates

From: 1 May 2020
Until: 2 May 2023

Do they charge?

They sometimes charge for house sitting services

Membership

MindMyHouse member since 2015

Personal details

Age: 56-65 years old

Testimonials

This member hasn't got any testimonials yet.

References

You need to be logged in to see this house sitters' references.

Last updated: 3 November 2019